RSS

Daily Archives: June 28, 2011

Top 10 Tuesday: Books I Want to Read Next

This doesn’t include yet the books that I bought that I still haven’t read. That is a whole other loooong list

1. Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins

I breezed through Hunger Games and Catching Fire, but I find myself both reluctant and dying to read this last book in the trilogy, mostly because it’s the last book. I don’t want my adventure into the world of Panem

 

2. Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs

They say it’s The X Men meets The Orphanage. I want to see all the creepy pictures too. But this is a book that should probably not be read late at night. Unless you like to scare yourself to death.

 

3. 13 Reasons Why by Jay Asher

Even though you cannot technically call me a Young Adult anymore, I adore well-written YA novels. I’ve been reading a lot of good about this one, which deals with teen suicide, a subject that is very close to my heart.

 

4. A Visit from the Goon Squad by Jennifer Egan

I have the ebook, but I want to devour this critically-acclaimed book (that I dubbed hipster emo) in its actual book form. I guess I have to prepare myself for lots of tears.

 

5. That 5th Book in the Sisterhood of The Traveling Pants series

I don’t know the title, and it hasn’t been released yet, but apparently, it’s a 10 years after book which will wrap up the story of the four girls that are my best friends in my head. Yes, in my imaginings, I am the 5th sister 🙂

6. Christian Atheist by Craig Groeschel

It’s lying there on my table, just waiting to be bought and taken home (even though I bought 10 books during our sale and I have only read just one). I am fascinated with non-fiction books that ask me to re-examine all my previously (and stubbornly) held beliefs because I want to grow more in my faith.

7. Quitter by Jon Acuff

I am not quitting my job anytime soon, but I’ve been in the quitting position a hundred (exaggerated of course) times before. And I know a lot of people who are having a dilemma about this. And I find Jon Acuff adorably hilarious

 

8. HYPERtheticals: 50 Questions for Insane Conversations by Chuck Klosterman

Okay, not technically a book, but anything released by my favorite American essayist is something that I want to read/buy/inhale

 

9. Onward by Howard Schultz: How Starbucks Fought for Its Life Without Losing Its Soul

Aside from Apple, the company that has enthralled me for the past few years has been Starbucks. Not just coz I’m a coffee addict but because they have such a firm hold on their brand identity, customer service and social media

10. El Nino: My Story by Fernando Torres

Because I will forever be his fangirl

 

 
2 Comments

Posted by on June 28, 2011 in Top 10 Tuesday

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,