RSS

Winter is almost here again! (I mean Game of Thrones okay?)

10 Apr
Winter is almost here again! (I mean Game of Thrones okay?)

Anyone who knows me well enough (or who happens to glance at my Facebook or Twitter feed every once in a while) know that I am a huge Game of Thrones (TV show) and A Song of Ice and Fire (the book series) fan. The wait in between seasons (and between book 5 and 6) can be so long that I re-watch and re-read and go through fan sites and all, just to keep me busy, Westeros-wise. And while I may have issues with some liberties that the tv show has taken (I will never forgive them for how they treated the rape, which they said wasn’t rape, scene from last season), I would still devour every single episode, behind the scenes videos, and even Vine and IG clips from the stars and the show.

So when I was given the chance to attend an advanced screening of the first episode of Season 5, wild direwolves couldn’t drag me away. The event was even more special because we were among the first in the whole wide world to watch this episode. My officemates who were fans of the show as well, hated me the entire Wednesday (I hope that day only) when I told them I was one of the privileged few to be invited. Hurray HBO Asia!

Of course I will not spoil anything here (unless you message me and beg me to spoil you!) but here are the non-spoilery things I observed after my heart calmed down and the end credits rolled. Some of these things have already been remarked upon if you’ve read the previews of the season.

  • This episode features the first ever flashback in the entire TV series. And if you’ve read the books, you’d immediately recognize the scene. But it was cool to hear some people gasp during the transition from flashback to the “present” timeline
  • A fan favorite does not show up in this episode and some will probably complain about it
  • Fans of Daario Naharis/Michael Huisman will be pretty happy, if you know what I mean. Wink wink
  • If you’re expecting non-stop action, big twists and turns in the premiere, you might be disappointed. Instead, there is character development, great dialogues between some favorite characters, and over-all, a pretty quiet (by the show’s standards) but nonetheless meaningful and great build-up to the rest of the season.
  • Did someone die? If you know your Game of Thrones, you’d know the answer to that.
  • I can’t wait until we get to Dorne and meet the Sand Snakes!

I’m really happy that HBO Asia will be airing the season premiere and the rest of the episodes at the same time it airs in the US. So that means if you don’t have school or work on Monday, April 13, 9AM, then tune in to HBO and catch the start of what should be another great Game of Thrones season. There will be an encore telecast at 9PM the same day.

Oh, and for those asking, the Iron Throne will be going to a different venue (it was at Fully Booked Bonifacio High Street until today) starting tomorrow until April 23. I’ll let you know where so you can have your own 5 (or 10) seconds, feeling like the ruler of the Seven Kingdoms.

Game of Thrones will air every Monday on HBO at those times mentioned.

In the meantime, here are some of my favorite viral GoT related clips from the past few days. Enjoy!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on April 10, 2015 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
