RSS

Pop Culture Recommendations #1 (2015 Edition)

05 Jan

The Librarians

It’s not the most intelligent show, it’s not that well-scripted (although it has potential) and the acting is campy at best, but there’s something about a show about magic, artifacts, and adventure that just gets to me. If you’re one of twenty people who loved Warehouse 13, then you’ll love this one too. Basic premise is that Noah Wyle is “The Librarian” (it actually started as a series of made-for-tv movies) and his duty is to collect artifacts from around the world to keep them from falling into the wrong hands. Hijinks and fantasy characters and (sometimes not so) witty one-liners ensue. It stars Rebecca Romijn, Christian Kane (Angel, Leverage), Lindy Booth, John Kim (I crush Ezekiel Jones!), and John Laroquette. Favorite episode so far is the Christmas one where cult hero Bruce Campbell plays Santa Claus.

Libarians

A-Babies vs X-Babies #1
This actually came out back in 2012 but I recently re-read it and I still squeed and gushed over it like crazy. All you need to know is this: baby versions of the Avengers and the X-Men go to battle over a teddy bear (Bucky bear!). It will just take you 10 minutes (or less) to read it, but it will take you longer because you’ll just “aaawww” and “wheeee” so many times. You can buy the digital comic here for just $1.99.
detail
Brutal Romantic by Brooke Fraser
It’s hard to define the exact genre of her latest album because her music has evolved so much from her What To Do With Daylight. Suffice to say I still enjoy her music even though I probably won’t be able to sing along to her songs in this album, since it’s more atmospheric rather than melodic. But her words still get to me, particularly these lines from Brutal Romance (not to be confused with Bad Romance okay?)
“And I want to sing
Over you and into you
What can’t be unsung

Love and death, and death and love
Brutal romance
A silver thread, a sharpened knife
A spinning slow-dance”

Louisa Wendorff’s mash-up covers
I first came across her because Taylor Swift recommended her excellent mash-up of Style and Blank Space (she didn’t sing Starbucks lovers!). I got curious about her so I explored her YouTube channel and discovered her other excellent covers. Her voice is haunting and the camera just caresses her face. Hope she uploads more videos soon!
TV Show Tracker 3
Y’all know that I watch and follow a gazillion TV shows. I’ve been looking for a simple app that can help me track all these shows and remind me when they’re already available to “acquire”. Finally found this app (iOS only, sorry) that is simple and efficient. I also love that it can adjust to our time zone so that I don’t get confused (which is fairly often) with the time difference. It also lets me check which episodes I’ve missed or haven’t watched.
Things I haven’t watched or read or listened to yet but I plan to this week
  • watch English Only Please
  • check out new show Galavant, a fairy-tale musical comedy
  • read Philip Yancey’s Vanishing Grace (shameless plugging!)
  • read My True Love Gave To Me (yes Christmas is over but I saw Mina Esguerra post about it, so voila, book envy)
  • read Naermyth by Karen Francisco, which Stef recommended and lent to me
 
Leave a comment

Posted by on January 5, 2015 in Pop Culture Recommendations

 

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
