RSS

8 Realizations While Spring Cleaning

10 Mar

I’m on my nth day of attempting to springclean and here are just some things I realized (and I know technically, we don’t have spring here, but what the heck do you call it then? Summer cleaning?)

1. I have too much stuff

I may have inherited my pack rat genes from my Mama (whose room is much worse than mine, believe me) and she probably inherited it from my late Lola (whose room we haven’t touched yet since she passed but I can’t wait to find what “treasures” we’ll find there). So I “acquired” the documentary The Story of Stuff in the hopes that I will be convinced to part with some of my stuff. Let’s see in a few weeks.

2. I have Internet ADD

I get easily distracted when a notification alert pings on my mac or phone. And so I end up chatting, tweeting and surfing 30% (okay, maybe 50%) of the time I’m supposed to be spring cleaning. What’s that? Maybe I should close my gadgets when I clean? That’s an idea…

3. I need to get started on that scrap book really soon

I have drawers and boxes of pictures, clippings and scrapbooking crap that I’ve accumulated the past 3-4 years when I decided to start that hobby. And so far, I’ve managed to complete around 20 pages in 3-4 years. So I guess you can’t really call it a hobby. So maybe I should start actually doing it. Otherwise those boxes and drawers are all for nothing.

One page of my scrapbook

4. Half of the magazines I own, I’d like to give away

Aside from the fact that they take up so much space in my little room, I realized that I don’t really need to buy every single football or entertainment magazine back issues I see in booksale shops. Especially since I have a digital subscription to most of these magazines. So yeah, anyone want to add some old magazines to your house?

This is not even 1/4 of the magazines I have

This is not even 1/4 of the magazines I have

5. I don’t want to give up any of the books I have, but I probably need to

Just thinking about giving away even just one book is already causing me palpitations (or maybe that’s just the coffee I ingested). But I know I may have to one of these days, due to the space problem and our termite problem also. So I have to start marking those that I will NEVER give away and those that I can donate to my friends’ libraries.

#bookwormproblems

#bookwormproblems

I need bookshleves

6. I have too many pens and sticky notes

I dunno why. I just like seeing them all colorful and pretty

You can never have enough pens

You can never have enough pens

 

7. Doing a spring cleaning of my hard drive is always therapeutic

It wasn’t just physical cleaning that I am attempting to do. Even though I have around 300 gigs of free space on my mac and 500 gigs on my external hard drive, I still feel the urge to delete and rearrange files into neat little folders. Try it sometime, it can do wonders for your emotional well-being, if you’re anything like me.

8. I am mentally organized but physically messy

But there is order in my chaos. Believe me, there is

chaos

Photo from gluehere.com

 
6 Comments

Posted by on March 10, 2013 in the ida chronicles

 

Tags: , ,

6 responses to “8 Realizations While Spring Cleaning

  1. March 10, 2013 at 10:19 pm

    I agree with 6 and 7!!! 🙂

     
    • idaflutterby

      March 10, 2013 at 10:26 pm

      Haha. High five sa mga OC sa files (and pens!)

       
  2. First Wives Club (@nappyKAYE)

    March 11, 2013 at 3:40 pm

    I know what you mean by organized chaos! But I desperately NEED to clean and purge.

     
    • idaflutterby

      March 11, 2013 at 4:10 pm

      I’m only halfway done with the purging!

       
  3. J.N.Na

    March 12, 2013 at 11:24 am

    Here’s a quote from “House that Cleans Myself” by Mindy Starns Clark. I’ve written this down in a notebook to remind myself to stop being a rat pack. Hope it helps.

    “It’s okay to get rid of it. As we age, we lose interest in different hobbies. Just because some thing was important to you once doesn’t mean you “owe” it anything now. Objects don’t have feelings.”

     
  4. Moongazer

    March 30, 2015 at 3:19 pm

    I feel your pain.

     

Leave a Reply

 
