RSS

My Pop Culture Recommendations Vol 1 2013

28 Jan

Because I don’t want to keep to myself all of the pop culture goodies I’ve been enjoying lately…*

 

The Following

If you’re a crime procedural junkie and literary geek like me, chances are you’d enjoy this new show. The basic premise is a college professor who teaches the works of Edgar Allan Poe (and kills women on the side in honor of the author) gets caught by the police. But then he starts using technology to create a whole social network of serial killers. Kevin Bacon plays the FBI agent who caught him and must now find all those other sickos. I’m not a fan of the Bacon, but two episodes in and I’m already hooked. Warning though, it’s fairly violent (there’s a scene with the woman in the police station that still makes me want to throw up) and deeply disturbing. Probably Fox Channel or Fox Crime will eventually show it locally, but if you have means of “acquiring” it weekly….

the following

Robin Nievera’s Nightmare

No, I’m not talking about actual nightmares of course. But when my resident music compass Ailene started raving about his album earlier today, I immediately downloaded it (hey, it’s free and legal!) and of course, fell in love with it. If you’re a fan of the male-troubadour-with-the-acoustic-guitar genre, then you will love this too. Click here and spread the word too!

Robin Nievera Nightmares

Streetfood Tycoon

If you’ve ever dreamed of owning your own foodcart business, then this will be good practice for you. This game, available in both iOs and Android is developed by Kuyi Mobile and proudly Pinoy! I might have spent 4 straight hours per day playing this game since I downloaded it last Thursday, so you might wanna hold off getting it if you dont have time to spare. But it will sure come in handy when you’re stuck in traffic or waiting in line somewhere. Oh and the sounds your customers make are weird and sometimes cute (I personally love the little girls saying hi and bye)

streetfood tycoon

7th Spring Film Festival

I remember the times when I would devour these free film festivals like a chocolate bar. But since I got really busy, I’ve stopped going. Now that I’m going to have a bit of free time, this is one habit I intend to take up again. And what better way to start than with a Chinese film festival from February 1-10. I know next to nothing about the films that will be shown, but sometimes, that’s the best way to go about these free film festivals. Go in with no expectations at all and you’ll either be blown away or you’ll walk out of it halfway through. And since it’s free, then you just wasted a few minutes of your day at least. For more info, go to Click the City here

 

The Changing Face of Nerds and Autism in Pop Culture by Noel Murray

I’m always fascinated by any well-written book or article about geekdom and this one from the A.V Club is a brilliant doozy. The writer is both a father to an autistic boy and a self-confessed geek, and so he knows what he’s talking about. He has great insights into pop culture’s tendency to both embrace and mock the nerds and the geeks and how sometimes what they call nerds and geeks are actually more of people who have Aspergers or other autism spectrum disorders. It’s a bit of a long read, but worth it, if you’re into that kind of thing. Read it here

 

Stars Live in Manila on February 16

While I am also excited that Paramore is coming here on the 15th, I’m even more giddy that I’ll be able to see live one of my bucket list bands, Stars. A former officemate introduced me to their music a few years back and  since then, they’ve become my favorite Canadian import and indie pop/dream pop band. I told myself back when I was still entertaining thoughts of getting married someday, that my first dance would be My Favourite Book (especially since in my head, I would marry a fellow bookworm). That dream has since evaporated, but the dream of seeing them live is about to come true! I’ll write more about them in the next few weeks, but for more info about the concert, visit Philippine Concerts (and for other upcoming concerts as well)

In the meantime, I’ll leave you with my current favorite Stars song from their latest album, The North. This is called Backlines. I dare you not to bob your head while listening and watching

 

*Just to be clear, I’m not being paid by any of these people/companies I mentioned

 
1 Comment

Posted by on January 28, 2013 in Pop Culture Recommendations

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

One response to “My Pop Culture Recommendations Vol 1 2013

  1. graceaddict

    January 29, 2013 at 12:41 pm

    This is a very great stuffs!

     

Leave a Reply

 
