RSS

(Belated) Top 10 Tuesday: Why I Love Coffee Shops

15 May

This blog is named coffeecoffeecofee, but it’s not technically about coffee. But today, I digress from the usual pop culture stuff to talk about why I love coffee shops (and coffee) in general. After all, coffee has already become an integral part of our pop culture.

This is about why I fell in love with coffee shops. Yes, most of them are over-priced, as some friends always like to point out. But the truth is, coffee shops have stopped being purely about coffee since the proliferation of Starbucks-es, Figaro-s and the likes. And personally, these are the reasons why I prefer to hang out there most of the time.

1. I go there when everything seems just too much. Don’t get me wrong, I love my life now, but there are just days and moments when you just need to get away and be alone and be anonymous and just be somwhere other than there. When I need to work, I bring along my trusty laptop. When I don’t need to work, I just bring a book or a notebook and pen. I sometimes don’t tell anyone where I’m going just so no one will bug me. Or sometimes, I just tell them because I know that after an hour or so, I will crave their company. Eventually

2. I go there when I want to people watch. The people who go to coffee shops are pretty interesting. There are those who devour frapuccinos like there’s no tomorrow. There are the beautiful people who parade in and out like stars in a music video about coffee. There are the ones who crave solitude ironically, in a public place, but in a corner with their books and mp3 players. There are those who meet up with long lost friends over coffee cups and pastries. There are the workaholics who can’t seem to let go of their laptops. And yes, I am sometimes all of those. Well, except for the frapuccinos and the beautiful people.

3. I go there when I want a good cup of coffee. I’m sorry, but I truly believe that instant coffee is not real coffee. Nothing beats Starbucks’ Sumatra or Figaro’s Amaretto or my new favorite, Slice’s Chocnut Coffee. The smell, the texture, the scalding hotness as it goes down my throat, and the eventual jolt as it enters my system. Those are things that instant coffee (no matter how “now” it is) can never give me. And yes, sometimes I do give in to the inevitable iced drinks and frapuccinos, but brewed coffee is still the real deal.

4. I go there when I want to meet up with long lost friends, or even everyday friends. It is quiet enough that you can hear each other talk, unlike if you meet up in a mall or that thing called a bar, which will never ever be conducive to intimate declarations. And yet, it is public enough that you can laugh out loud without incurring the wrath of the people sitting next to you, unless they are the kind that attempt to ‘study’ in coffee shops. (Honey, this isn’t a library, so better bring earphones or something)

5. Most coffeeshops offer free wifi (except for Starbucks boo) and for someone who breathes online, this is always a good thing.

6. Coffee + aircon + wifi + headphones = conducive to writing

7. Most coffeeshops have really good pastries to satisfy my always sweet tooth

8. A lot of my best ideas have come from just sitting in coffeeshops, staring blankly into space and waiting for eureka moments. Granted, not all of these ideas have borne fruit, but someday, that idea notebook will come in handy.

9. Coffeeshops always smell good. Enough said

10. And yes, the plan one day is to have my own coffee shop/library, where people can do all the things I mentioned above. So while that is still in the pipeline, I will continue to make the rounds of all the coffee shops in Manila and fortify that idea in my head

So why do you love coffee shops?

 
1 Comment

Posted by on May 15, 2012 in Top 10 Tuesday

 

One response to “(Belated) Top 10 Tuesday: Why I Love Coffee Shops

  1. morks

    May 21, 2012 at 3:49 pm

    When you finally put up a coffee shop, put one in QC. I’ll be your most loyal customer =) And my reason? Same with your #1 point.

     

Leave a Reply

 
