RSS

Music Monday: If I Could Marry These Songs, I Would (My Favorite Love Songs)

27 Mar

Yes, I admit I had a phase where just the opening strains of such cheesy love ballads like You Were There, You’re All I Need or More Than Words were enough to make me go “aaaaawww” and “kilig”.

But as I grew older (and musically adventurous, I’d like to believe) all these pop, R&B power ballads that make most people squeal have the power to make me nauseous and it takes a huge effort for me not to roll my eyes, especially when the people around me seem to enjoy it.

As they say, different strokes for different folks.

But of course there are songs that make weak in the knees and make me long to actually be in love (as opposed to my almost always loveless state) just so I can really relate to the songs.

Here are 10 of those songs. Oh and yes, for the sake of disclosure, one of these is a Celine Dion Song

*click the song titles to go straight to the youtube video*

1. There Is a Light That Never Goes Out by The Smiths

For people who’ll say “Huh? What song is this?”, this is the song that Tom and Summer bonded over in the elevator. And for some reason, I just find the  idea of wanting to die with someone in a car crash, morbidly romantic

“And if a ten-ton truck kills the both of us, to die by your side, well the pleasure, the privilege is mine”

If I do get to see Morrisey live in May and he sings this song, I will probably bawl my eyes out while singing along to my heart’s content

2. Comfort In Your Strangeness by Cynthia Alexander

This for me is one of the most beautifully written and composed love songs ever. And if I do get married someday, i will probably insist on having this as my wedding march. And if the future groom will not agree, I will seriously re-think our engagement. Kidding. Or not. Anyways, he will probably be strange, so he would definitely agree.

“I have seen, I have been to places far and deep in my mind, only to find comfort in your strangeneness”

3. I Will Follow You Into the Dark by Death Cab for Cutie

Okay, does it say something about me, that 2 out of my 3 favorite love songs is about death? Okay, i will refuse to psycho-analyze myself and leave that to the psychology majors out there. But theological issues aside, this song really is the sweetest. And the fact that it’s just accompanied by an acoustic guitar makes it all the more poignant

“If there’s no one beside you
When your soul embarks
Then I’ll follow you into the dark”

4. Fly Farther by Jars of Clay

Okay, make that 3 out of 4 favorite love songs are about love and death. I’m now realizing that the two are intricately entwined in my head for some reason. But this lovely song is about a couple growing old together and gives me hope that there are still some people out there who can make it until the “till death do us part” of life

My time flies but we’ll fly farther
Into the night where the eyes of loneliness can never bother
All the dreams of together
Uneclipsed by never never
My time flies
I see it in your eyes
But we’ll fly farther

5. My Favorite Book by Stars

The first time I heard this song, I just immediately fell in love with the idea of comparing someone I love to something that I really love. And of course one of my non-negotiables when it comes to falling in love with someone is that he should be a bookworm like me. So yeah, this should be perfect for us.

How I know your face, all the ways you move, you come in, I can read you
You’re my favourite book
All the things you say, the way you shift your eyes
I never knew there was someone, to make me come alive

 6. Stay (Faraway, So Close) by U2

With or Without You will probably be on most people’s lists, but this U2 song is for me the most evocative of the romantic side of Bono and company. Although if you really listen to it, it’s more of a heartbreak song than a romantic one. But still swoony

And if you look, you look through me
And if you talk it’s not to me
And when I touch you, you don’t feel a thing

If I could stay.. then the night would give you up
Stay, and the day would keep it’s trust
Stay, and the night would be enough

7. Inevitable by Anberlin

Probably the cheesiest on this list, next to the inevitable Celine Dion song of course. But who wouldn’t swoon with lyrics like “i want to be the last first kiss that you’ll ever have” right? And it’s been proven that if you use this song on a wedding AVP, sighs will be heard all around

I wanna break every clock
The hands of time could never move again
We could stay in this moment (stay in this moment)
For the rest of our lives

8. As Time Goes By (the Billie Holiday version)

I first heard this song when I was a very little girl, and somehow, it’s stuck with me ever since. And it helps that it’s the theme song from one of my favorite love stories ever, Casablanca. I sincerely believe they don’t make love songs like this anymore

Moonlight and love songs – never out of date
Hearts full of passion – jealousy and hate
Woman needs man – and man must have his mate
That no one can deny

9. Two Of Us, I Wanna Hold Your Hand, I’m Happy Just to Dance With You, I Want You by The Beatles

Yeah, I know I cheated. But I equally love these four romantic Fab Four songs and so it’s hard to choose. So let’s just dub then my four favorite Beatles love songs, yes?

10. If You Asked Me To by Celine Dion

Yep, here it is, I admit it. This song is the current state of my heart. Enough said, Just listen to it. That is all.

How about you? What are your favorite love songs?

The videos for your listening and viewing pleasure

 

 
3 Comments

Posted by on March 27, 2012 in Music Monday

 

Tags:

3 responses to “Music Monday: If I Could Marry These Songs, I Would (My Favorite Love Songs)

  1. a solemn punch

    March 27, 2012 at 11:46 am

    Stay. Comfort in your Strangeness. FAVE!

     
  2. Chica Quiambao

    April 5, 2012 at 3:27 pm

    I think it’s awesome you picked the B.Holiday version.

     
  3. Moks

    April 25, 2012 at 6:03 pm

    Maybe not “for all time” but currently:

    1. Heartbeats by Jose Gonzales (http://youtu.be/Y-qJu20do0o)

    2. The World Spins Madly On by The Weepies (http://youtu.be/OBk3ynRbtsw) [Watch the video!!]

    3. Sweet Disposition by Temper Trap (http://youtu.be/jxKjOOR9sPU)

    4. Without You by Bo Bruce (http://youtu.be/xj6Tfii6B-Q)

    5. Every Teardrop is a Waterfall by Coldplay

    6. Bonny Portmore by Loreena McKennitt (http://youtu.be/yYkg6styqfM)

    7. Passion Play by William Fitzsimmons (http://youtu.be/hRhon7F-vOQ)

    8. Salvation is Here by Hillsong United (http://youtu.be/aEI4Y4jpe94)

    My internet at home has been wonky for the past two weeks. wala akong bagong episodes😦

     

Leave a Reply

 
