RSS

Top Ten Tuesday: Things That Keep Me Up At Night (And Make Me Caffeine Dependent the Next Day)

20 Mar

I can’t remember a time when I wasn’t an insomniac. Sleeping before 10PM means I’m sick or I’m really really tired. And 3-4 hours a night is a normal thing for me. Meh, who needs 8 hours anyways? So these are ten of the reasons why it’s so difficult to get more winks at night

Oh, I’m not necessarily recommending them because you might blame me if you end up an insomniac like me. But, try at your own risk!

1. Twitter

Yup, it’s the number one culprit. Since people on the other side of the world are just starting to tweet and the night owls on our side are alive and active, it’s so hard to get away from conversations, interesting RT’s and breaking news tweets.

2. Guilty pleasure books

I usually like reading my thoughtful and deep books during the weekends or early in the morning while drinking coffee. But for bedtime reading, my go-to books are my guilty pleasure authors, meaning: Mary Higgins Clark, James Patterson, Sue Grafton, and the occasional Harlequin and Mills and Boons love stories. Because they’re very easy to flip through, I end up finishing a book in one night/dawn

3. Football

Whether it’s late night/early morning matches, browsing through the endless footie websites, tweeting with my footie friend, FIFA12 on the iPad, or going through the archives of my official fangirl footie site Kickette, this sport has taken hold of my life in a way that only fellow football fans would ever understand

4. Pinterest

If you follow me on Twitter and are friends with me on Facebook, you know that this is my newest addiction. It’s like a rabbit hole that I never want to emerge from. One picture will lead to another, which will lead to a new user that has a gazillion interesting pictures, and so on and so forth. If you haven’t tried it yet, careful or you will spaz like there’s no tomorrow

5. TV Shows

I seldom watch TV shows on an actual television. It’s more like I download 5 or so shows in one night, then watch them all the night after. I have an endless list of shows that I follow religiously, not to mention catching up on back episodes of shows I’ve neglected and yes, even watching episodes I’ve watched over and over again.

6. The games that have “with Friends”

Words With Friends. Hanging With Friends. Scramble With Friends. Occasionally, Chess With Friends. I very seldom win in any of these games (goes to show how smart my friends are) but I keep trying and trying and trying

7. Fixing my iTunes

Because I have around 70+ gigs worth of music on my hard drive alone, I keep deleting, adding, making playlists, manually putting album covers, etc. I am that OC about my music collection.

8. School stuff

Checking assignments, papers, researching for lessons, preparing lesson plans, answering students’ emails, blah blah blah. When I actually start studying for my Masters, I will be doing all these twice over, but this time I’ll be on the other side of the fence. I am both scared and excited for it!

9. Writing

I haven’t done this for a while now, but when I’m in the mood, I write up a storm. And not just typing in a computer writing, but actual, physical writing in a notebook. The downside is that when I’m actually trying to transfer my writing digitally, I can’t understand my own handwriting

10. Late night conversations with God

I dunno how you pray, but over the years, I’ve developed more of a conversation-type of prayer life. Not that i actually audibly hear God speak ha. It’s more like I “talk” to Him about all the things that happened during the day: the good, the bad, the trivial, the annoying, the happy parts. And then I keep silent then try to “listen” to His heart, mostly through His Word, the whispers to my heart that only He and I could understand and decipher.

So, what keeps you up at night?

(and yes, sometimes you keep me up at night. or rather, the imaginary conversations i have with you)

 
4 Comments

Posted by on March 20, 2012 in Top 10 Tuesday

 

4 responses to “Top Ten Tuesday: Things That Keep Me Up At Night (And Make Me Caffeine Dependent the Next Day)

  1. raindeocampo

    March 21, 2012 at 12:01 am

    Is that in the order like no. 1 is ranked as the most probable instance why you’re still awake at night? If that’s the case, well your no. 9 is my number 1 hehe 🙂 .. my number 2 would be TV shows or DVDs.

     
  2. Noria P. Adam-Lim

    March 21, 2012 at 7:02 am

    Im not much a coffee drinker but I love to drink fresh brewed coffee in a cold morning in Baguio. I am not much of a night person. I would love to sleep at 9am if I can. But the times I enjoyed staying up late is when I have to wait for the fireflies to come out or when I am night diving or when I have to watch out for shooting stars.

     
  3. Daryll Dial-Boyd (@GreenDei)

    March 21, 2012 at 10:32 am

    Am not much of a tweeter unless I need something to call attention to or some sort of campaign running in connection with my online strategizing 🙂 As for the writing, it keeps me awake ’til wee hours because I need to accomplished such task or I get so hype sharing something online. My target is to create an ever green content to drive traffic LOL

     
  4. chrisair

    March 22, 2012 at 9:29 am

    sometimes youtube keeps me up or my hubby wants to chat with me, I hate my lifestyle but I always do it lol

     

Leave a Reply

 
