RSS

Music Monday: Yes I Cried Alone at Death Cab for Cutie

06 Mar

Tonight, I crossed off two items off my imaginary bucket list (I do have a list but it’s all my head)

  • watch a concert alone
  • see Death Cab for Cutie live in concert

A friend actually asked me why I would even consider watching a concert alone and I gave her the following reasons

  1. Tickets are too expensive for me to treat a friend (which I occasionally do)
  2. No one I knew well enough was going to the concert (I did know some people but they were with their friends and I don’t wanna be the odd duck)
  3. I’m a loser
  4. I’ve always wanted to try it

And most importantly
I LOVE THE BAND THAT MUCH

Of course I felt a bit silly and intimated by the numerous groups of hipsters once we were inside the venue. But the moment the band stepped on stage and played their first few notes, all self-consciousness fled my body and I started swaying, bobbing my head, singing gustily along and even dancing occasionally.

No matter how many concerts I’ve been to, I am always amazed at how music brings people together; that thousands of people, practically strangers can sing in unison and scream together for an encore; that each guitar riff or drum solo can sound so familiar and touch a deep part of our souls; that words written by one person can strike a chord in millions of people. I will never get tired at seeing the power of music.

Now after waxing lyrical about the beauty of music, here are my random thoughts:

  • Even if they say that DCFC sold out for years now, you cannot deny their musicality. And live, it is even more evident. Each instrument, note, arrangement, was just close enough to perfect that night
  • I cried twice: during What Sarah Said (love is watching someone die) and of course during….
  • that moment when Ben picked up his guitar and launched into an earnest and simple rendition of I Will Follow You Into the Dark and the who,e venue sang with him through every freaking word of that beautiful song. Two cliche but true words: Epic and Infinite
  • even if I didn’t know some of the songs, I couldn’t stop bobbing and trying to mouth lyrics I almost recognized
  • I therefore conclude I am still not old enough to not like rock music. I did not once tell myself “Man, the music is too loud”
  • this was one of the loudest crowds I’ve been with for a while now (with the exemption of football games). That clamor for an encore was soooo freaking loud, my ears rang for a few minutes afterwards (and not from the music)
  • “This next song is a song about vampires” Ben drolly said before launching into Meet Me In The Equinox, which many consider their sell-out song (it was in the Twilight OST in case you didn’t know) but is actually a pretty good song
  • OA na kung OA, but there were a lot of moments during the concert when I just had to close my eyes, sway blindly to the music just to breathe in the whole experience
  • songs that they didn’t play but I wish they did: Your Heart is an Empty Room, Stay Young Go Dancing, Different Names for the Same Thing, Someday You Will Be Loved

Click here for the complete set list

And this is what Ben had to say afterwards

One more thing, I did not have a single picture or video from last night because
1. There were too many obstructions (tall people) in front of me
2. I’ve never made it a habit to take pics during concerts coz I feel like it takes me away from the whole concert experience

So here’s my only remembrance from that night

So yeah, for real concert photos, go to my favorite concert photographer’s site here

And for once, I’m glad some people captured this moment on video (thank you youtube user kikoat)

 
15 Comments

Posted by on March 6, 2012 in Music Monday

 

Tags: ,

15 responses to “Music Monday: Yes I Cried Alone at Death Cab for Cutie

  1. Jaekicoffee.0fees.net

    March 6, 2012 at 1:06 pm

    Yeah, ako din nanood ng concert mag isa….

     
  2. idaflutterby

    March 6, 2012 at 1:40 pm

    What concert did you watch alone?

     
  3. Daryll Dial-Boyd (@GreenDei)

    March 6, 2012 at 3:31 pm

    Hi Ida! 🙂 haven’t seen or heard from you lately… you’re a true-blue DCFC follower! Watching a concert alone is a tough decision for me =)

     
  4. idaflutterby

    March 6, 2012 at 3:40 pm

    Hi Daryll, yeah been out of the blogging loop for a while, trying to get back now. Haha. And yeah, die hard fan talaga!

     
  5. Noria P. Adam-Lim

    March 6, 2012 at 4:04 pm

    Wow to watch a concert alone! That’s cool. I don’t think you’re a loser at all. I watched your video, its really cool ha. 🙂

     
    • idaflutterby

      March 7, 2012 at 9:26 am

      Hi Noria! Yes, it was quite an experience, every one should try it out at least once. Hehe. Oh, and the video isn’t mine ha, wasn’t able to get any coz of all the tall people in front of me 😛

       
  6. rockstarmomma

    March 6, 2012 at 6:34 pm

    aww so green w/ envy haha still wondering why I wasn’t able to see that concert.. Breaks my heart… lol looks like u had so much fun 🙂

     
  7. Krystle Pingol

    March 6, 2012 at 7:45 pm

    oh, i have no idea on this band, brave enough to watch a concert alone ha..

     
  8. Vance

    March 6, 2012 at 10:01 pm

    What you’ve just done was way pretty cool! I haven’t gone on a concert alone, only to the movies. Although others may find it weird, I know it made a different sense of self-fulfillment being able to have the Guts to go solo. Kudos to your personal blog…it’s really nice.

     
  9. Norman

    March 7, 2012 at 11:47 am

    These sentiments mirror mine. I watched the concert alone too. And yes I almost cried to What Sarah Said and Transantlanticism. I will definitelt miss singing with Ben and the other Filipino fans. Maan, it was overwhelmingly beautiful.

     
  10. somedayiwillbeloved

    March 8, 2012 at 4:04 pm

    OA na kung OA, but there were a lot of moments during the concert when I just had to close my eyes, sway blindly to the music just to breathe in the whole experience

    youre not alone me too i was alone 7 i did close my eyes so many time because i thought it wasnt happening.

     
  11. lenij

    March 8, 2012 at 8:39 pm

    Saw the concert by myself din. So you’re not alone. Hirap naman kasi mag-aya lalo na for those who didn’t even know the band exist. 🙂 But it’s all worth it. By the time DCFC went on stage makakalimutan mo na lahat. It’s just you and the music and nothing else matters.

     
  12. CARS

    February 10, 2014 at 6:45 pm

    Hi! I was pathetically searching the interwebs for “watching the concert alone” haha. Anyway, I did NOT watch DCFC alone, but with strange acquaintances. But I’m considering going to this concert (next week!) alone. So.

    Also, I totally get the “OA na kung OA, but there were a lot of moments during the concert when I just had to close my eyes, sway blindly to the music just to breathe in the whole experience” Until now, that concert still resonates with me and I still close my eyes and just imagine the whole thing. It was beyond magic.

     
    • idaflutterby

      February 10, 2014 at 7:26 pm

      Hi Cars!

      Yeah that concert is still one of my favorites of all time! Last year I watched another one on my own and I think I might consider doing that annually. Haha. It is always an interesting experience 🙂 Everyone should try it at least once in their life 🙂

      And LOL at the “strange acquaintances” 😛

       

Leave a Reply

 
