RSS

TV Thursday: My Favorite New Shows So Far

10 Nov

Since most of the new shows are into their 6th and above episodes, I can already half make up my mind as to which shows I’ve fallen in love with already. Here’s hoping that at least half of these shows survive this season and get at least a second one. So, in no particular order….. (and if you ask nicely, I can even lend you some episodes 😛 )

REVENGE 

The first time I heard about this show, I expected it to be campy and soap opera-ish a-la Melrose Place and the likes, with a character screaming “Revenge” with an evil laugh. But this has become an instant audience favorite and is actually an intelligent, self-aware, and yes still soap opera-ish show (but in a good way). My girl crush Emily Van Camp shines as a young woman wreaking subtle but deadly, uhm, revenge on a family that destroyed her father’s life. Madeleine Stow is the cunning, manipulative matriarch of said family, and there are lots of twists and turns (and beautiful people and locations) to keep you hooked

2 Broke Girls

Not to be confused with my forever girl crush Zooey’s show New Girl (which I am still not decided if I like)

The always awesome Kat Dennings is Max, a cynical, street-smart, smart-mouthed diner waitress (is there any other kind of diner waitress) who teams up with fellow waitressa fallen from grace, dumb-blonde but Ivy League educated Caroline (played by Beth Behrs) to try and save money to put up a cupcake business. Hilarity and hijinks ensue. And they have a horse in their apartment. Funny stuff

Terra Nova

Battlestar Galactica-ish atmosphere. Dinosaurs. Utopian dystopia. Dinosaurs. Jason O’Mara. Dinosaurs. Oh, did I mention there are dinosaurs? Storytelling needs to improve a bit, and some characters I don’t really care about. But it still hooks me every week, so something is working. Maybe the dinosaurs

Suburgatory

To fill the void of Awkward (my favorite US Summer show from a few months back), this snarky father-daughter comedy is a hilarious look at suburban life (with all their jumpsuits and Red Bull lite and stupid conformity), from the point of view of two die-hard New Yorkers, the aforementioned father and daughter. It’s like Everwood without all the drama. And I think Jeremy Sisto in a comedy role is a hoot, and so far from all his dark and brooding characters

Person of Interest

I would probably watch Ben Linus, I mean, Michael Emerson in anything (even Two and a Half Men, if he decides to guest there) so it’s already a given that I would like this show. It’s hard to describe this show so I’ll just paste the opening dialogue of the show, as narrated by Ben, I mean, Mr. Finch

You are being watched. The government has a secret system–a machine that spies on you every hour of every day. I know because…I built it. I designed the machine to detect acts of terror but it sees everything…violent crimes involving ordinary people; people like you, crimes the government considered irrelevant. They wouldn’t act so I decided I would, but I needed a partner–someone with the skills to intervene. Hunted by the authorities, we work in secret. You will never find us. But whether victim or perpetrator, if your number’s up, we’ll find you.

Oh, and Jim Caviziel is impossibly handsome

Homeland

I never thought that I would actually like anything that has Claire Danes in it (I still haven’t forgiven her for ruining Stardust for me) but she nails her role to the wall in this series. Is she paranoid/insane/psychotic (probably) or are her suspicions that newly returned POW Damien Lewis is a significant threat to national security (again, a very big probably too)? It’s like 24, but without the pace and urgency, but it’s an enjoyable and thrilling slow burn

Up All Night

Christina Applegate. Will Arnett. Maya Rudolph. And a cute baby. That’s comedy gold right there. And it’s based on the creator’s real-life experiences of going back to work at Saturday Night Live after she gave birth to her first child. Chuckles and aaawwwsss, are heard whenever i watch this

Still not sure whether I will love it til the end but im enjoying it so far:

Once Upon A Time – still 3 eps in, but looks very promising

Grimm – loved the first ep, but kinda fell asleep on the 2nd

Prime Suspect – Maria Bello’s take on Jane Timmony (popularized by Helen Mirren in the BBC miniseries) is kick-ass, but the storylines are a bit blah

American Horror Story – sometimes too scary (and too needlessly raunchy)

A Gifted Man – sometimes too sappy but Patrick Wilson is just so pretty

New Girl – Zooey Deschanel, my forever girl crush, is adorkable, but the script is sometimes trying too hard

Big disappointments:

Charlie’s Angels – not even a hot Bosley can save this for me

Pan Am – Christina Ricci, what a waste

The Playboy Club – well, my expectations weren’t that high anyways, but still such a sucky show

Hart of Dixie – trying to get by on the town’s quirky charm, but not going anywhere

Secret Circle – trying to be the next Vampire Diaries but with witches, but not appealing enough for me

 
4 Comments

Posted by on November 10, 2011 in TV Thursday

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

4 responses to “TV Thursday: My Favorite New Shows So Far

  1. Jenn ♥

    November 10, 2011 at 1:30 pm

    Wow. That’s a lot! Teehee 😀

     
  2. idaflutterby

    November 10, 2011 at 2:29 pm

    Oh, that’s not even half of what I watch. Hahaha. There are the old shows pa! What shows do you like?

     
    • Jenn ♥

      November 21, 2011 at 9:29 am

      As much as I wanted to watch mga series, I have no time na.. 😦 I used to watch Grey’s Anatomy, and Friends. Pero di ko naman nasubaybayan na. hehe

       
      • idaflutterby

        November 25, 2011 at 11:09 am

        I subtract substantial sleeping hours just to keep up with my shows. Hahaha

         

Leave a Reply

 
