RSS

Belated Top Ten Tuesday: Pop Culture Things I’m Looking Forward To

12 Oct

DISCLAIMER: I haven’t been commissioned by any of these shows/groups. I’m just really excited for them and I want you to be excited too! Just click on the links for the official sites

1. The Sound of Music

There was a time when I was young that I watched The Sound of Music almost everyday and I could quote to you every scene and I would gladly sing to you any of the songs from the movie. My mother and brother are huge fans too, and so when we heard that there was a local production (Joana Ampil!!!), we knew we couldn’t pass this up. So yeah, tickets secured and we’re good to go on Nov 20!

2. Visual/Voices at Ayala Museum

I always love attending Ayala Museum events coz they’re very informative and interesting. This time around, it’s a talk by Spanish filmmakers Carlos Casas and Martha Atienza on filmmaking and its social impact. Should be another good one and something I can use in the classes I teach. If you’re going to be there, say hi to me coz I’ll be alone 🙂

3. Stomp! Manila ’11

I’ve always been a huge fan of Stomp and I think I had around 5 DVDs of theirs (and whoever has it, please return it to me!!!) so I’m really psyched that I can finally watch them live! They’re a percussion group, but instead of using actual drums and stuff, they use everyday things like brooms, cans, barrels, etc. I can’t really explain it, but here, just watch

4. Pelicula, Pelikula: The 10th Spanish Film Festival

I know some people find it weird that I love everything Spanish (football, food, men, the country itself and of course, films) since they were our conquerors for 300 years, but I just have a fascination with them. And yes, this year’s film line-up looks great. And yes, I will probably be able to watch only 1 or 2, but that’s okay with me, as long as I get to watch!

5. Next to Normal: The Repeat

I so regret not being able to catch this the first time around, so I will take advantage of this, even if I have to watch it alone. And judging from what my friends are saying, i will probably be bawling my eyes out the first 10 minutes or so. It’s about a woman struggling with bi-polar disorder and depression, so something I can relate to somewhat. Haha. Oh and it has Jett Pangan, one of my eternal crushes

6. Lisa Macuja’s last full-length performance

Lisa Macuja in Romeo and Juliet, dancing for the last time on stage. Bound to be nostalgic and beautiful. I’m so there. Anyone want to watch with me? I will probably cry too

7. Jason Mraz Live in Manila

Even though I’m Yours was overplayed to death and made me lose a little love for him, Jason Mraz is still one of my fave pop singer/songwriters. And this concert is promising to be an intimate special acoustic evening (although how you can be intimate in Smart Araneta is another matter altogether). Again, anyone planning to go see this?

8. Walking Dead Season 2!!!

One of my surprise fave shows from last year was this post-apocalyptic romp through zombieland. I love it not just coz of its scare factor and the awesome grossness of killing zombies, but because it has heart and a great script and deep characterization. Whoever thought that zombie killing can actually make me cry? So psyched for the second season! Oh and if you didn’t know it yet, Deputy Grimes is the guy who was in love with Kiera Knightley in Love Actually 😛

9. THE AVENGERS TRAILER!!!!

Yes, all caps! I trust Joss Whedon and all the actors to not screw this up. Oh, and Hawkeye!!! And first look at Mark Ruffalo (another eternal crush) as The Hulk. Squee!

Captain America: Big man in a suit and armor. Take that away and what are you?

Iron Man: A genius, billionaire, playboy philantrophist

Thor: Hahahahaha

10. Liverpool v Manchester United derby on October 15

Okay, not strictly pop culture, but a big deal for me. Last season wasn’t too great for Liverpool, but this season is shaping up to be a good comeback, so bring it on Red Devils! The Reds will never walk alone!

 

// //

 
3 Comments

Posted by on October 12, 2011 in Top 10 Tuesday

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

3 responses to “Belated Top Ten Tuesday: Pop Culture Things I’m Looking Forward To

  1. Ailene

    October 12, 2011 at 10:53 am

    STOMP!

    And Next To Normal is suppppaaaaahhhh awesome. OMG. I didn’t stop crying throughout the entire play. Jett Pangan is just… WAAAAHHH.

     
  2. Ailene

    October 12, 2011 at 11:32 am

    And I’ll watch Lisa Macuja with you.

     
  3. Chris

    October 13, 2011 at 3:46 pm

    I am excited to watch The Sound of Music!

     

Leave a Reply

 
