RSS

Music Monday: My Current Playlist

25 Jul

One of the things I love most about being a voracious music consumer is sharing what I’m listening to, whether it be new or old songs, in the hopes that you might find their music beautiful too. And I am also very much open to knowing about your musical recommendations (except for r&b and super duper pop songs)

So here are the songs enjoying repeat performances on my ipod

Two Doves by The Dirty Projectors

It evokes Cynthia Alexander-ish feelings in me. The song is simple enough but has a sweet simplicity to it, even if it seems to be about a relationship falling apart from the inside. The guitar work is splendid too

Sort Of by Ingrid Michaelson

Even if her songs seem to be specifically tailored for Grey’s Anatomy (which I hardly watch anymore), I still love the way they speak of pain and broken hearts in an upbeat manner

Elephant by Damien Rice

Now this is a man who has mastered the fine art of poetry and emo without sounding like a douche-y and bitter artist-type. I love this song particularly because of the lines “What’s the point of this song? Or even singing?”

Lingering Still by She & Him

I’ve said it before and I’ll say it forever: I have a huge girl crush on Zooey Deschanel and everything she does is beautiful to me (yes, even Elf). And I am a huge fan of She & Him and their retro-alternative ditties. This one makes me want to dance 60s style

Howling For You by The Black Keys

I just love albums that you can listen to over and over again and Brothers by The Black Keys is one of those. This blues-rock tune has LSS-ed me for a few weeks now. And the video (NSFW though) features Tricia Helfer of BSG!

Betty by Brooke Fraser

The former Hillsong singer turned CCM artist has now crossed over to the mainstream with her 3rd album, Flags. This song has been used for some promos for US network TV shows

After Afterall by William Fitzsimmons

A song doesn’t always have to have profound lyrics to be beautiful, as with this short but haunting song

Closer by John Mark McMillan

His worship songs you probably can’t sing in church. They’re just so raw and honest and true and vertical, that I sometimes wonder what kind of a “Christian culture” we have that cannot do that

Come closer, closer to me.
Find me broken, find me on my knees,
cause I need more now than philosophy.
Some god in outer space doesn’t mean anything to me.

So would you come?
Would you come?
If I begged you, would you come closer to me now? 

Son of David, do not pass me by,
cause I am naked,
I’m poor and I’m blind. 


 

 
5 Comments

Posted by on July 25, 2011 in Music Monday

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

5 responses to “Music Monday: My Current Playlist

  1. Ailene

    July 26, 2011 at 1:49 pm

    hipster. JOKE! hahahahaha!

     
  2. Ida Torres

    July 26, 2011 at 1:59 pm

    Kung ako hipster, ano ka? Uber hipster! Haha

     
  3. Ailene

    July 26, 2011 at 2:02 pm

    i can’t be an uber hipster. i sincerely love justin bieber eh. hahahaha.

     
    • morks

      July 26, 2011 at 9:15 pm

      what seriously JB? haha!!

       
  4. morks

    July 26, 2011 at 9:17 pm

    Ditto on the Zooey Deschanel crush! And let it be known that it was her vid that I clicked first =D

    your taste in music is just… expansive! haha compared to mine kasi that is the 5-or-6-band kind, well that’s a whole new world for me. =)

     

Leave a Reply

 
