RSS

Top 10 Tuesday: Famous People I’d Like to Meet

12 Jul

One of my blog assignments for my students this week is listing down their top five celebrities/famous people that they would like to meet someday. Since I want to be a good example, I am posting my Top Ten list too, in no particular order

Paul Hewson aka Bono

I know a friend who non-jokingly refers to him as the anti-Christ, to which I say, “Whatevs”. I really admire not just his music, but the way he uses his fame to make people aware of social issues and the way he can bring together the secular and the holy.

Margaret Atwood

Her books were my constant companions during my late teens and early 20s and her stories, especially those about how women relate to each other, have resonated with me for some reason (even if I have never experienced those kinds of betrayal and depth of feelings)

Christopher Nolan

He has not yet made a movie I didn’t like and to be able to pick his brain even for just a few minutes would be one of the greatest moments of my life

Zooey Deschanel and Ben Gibbard

When my ultimate girl crush and my ultimate hipster emo idol got married, I already planned our coffee date in my head, which is like them talking 80% of the time and me nodding my head and taking notes

Fernando Torres

I would not want to have an actual conversation with him because I would probably just faint and make a fool of myself. But to be within breathing distance of him would already be a dream come true

Cameron Strang (and the rest of the Relevant crew)

He and his Relevant Magazine are personal heroes and inspirations of mine. I’ve always wanted to put up our own local and humble version of this multi-media “empire” where faith meets pop culture. One day, I will visit their Orlando office and see where all the magic happens

Cynthia Alexander

I would probably and embarrassingly do a “we’re not worthy” homage to this woman when I do finally meet her just because I think her music is the most awesome thing that has come out of a Filipina

Buffy the Vampire Slayer

Not Sarah Michelle Gellar but the actual Buffy, if she was a real person. She is still my favorite TV heroine of all time and I would love to be able to just gab with her like we were buddies

Jon Acuff

He makes me LOL and think at the same time with every blog post in Stuff Christians Like and he would probably be a riot in person too

Neil Gaiman

I’ve already met him once (squee) but I only remember half of what we talked about because I was too star struck and so I would love to have another go at a real conversation with him. And maybe this time, I wouldn’t be dazed and confused

 
1 Comment

Posted by on July 12, 2011 in Top 10 Tuesday

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

One response to “Top 10 Tuesday: Famous People I’d Like to Meet

  1. Racing Fuel

    February 7, 2012 at 6:28 pm

    You are really a just right webmaster. The website loading pace is incredible. It kind of feels that you are doing any distinctive trick. Moreover, The contents are masterpiece. you’ve performed a magnificent activity in this topic!

     

Leave a Reply

 
