RSS

Top 10 Tuesday: Things I Learned On My 1st Day of Teaching

21 Jun

1. Preparing the lesson is fun. Actually teaching it is another matter.

2. Most 18 year old boys are really like most 16 year old boys.

3. Some students can still surprise you with the answer to “What’s your favorite movie?” Being John Malkovich and Lords of Dogtown are not the usual answers of 2nd year college students.

4. Apparently, most private colleges now have projectors in their classrooms. Meaning, my students don’t have to suffer from my unreadable handwriting.

5. 4 1/2 hours can be both the shortest and longest hours of your life.

6. Requiring students to do stuff you hated doing when you were a student is not some sort of karmic retribution. It’s a thing called the cycle of life.

7. Apparently, not everyone knows what foursquare is. *brings out my social media for the uninformed powerpoint presentation*

8. Putting names to 27 faces is not as easy as it seems. Nameplates might be needed soon.

9. My biggest challenge will be to teach writing to kids who either have no interest in writing or who think that writing doesn’t play any part in their future.

10. I did not respect my teachers enough. One class in and already I realize how tough it is. I sincerely apologize for thinking that it’s easier to mold college minds. It is not

*Disclaimer: I really am excited to embark on this adventure. I’m just having to readjust my spectacles

 
 

Tags: ,

7 responses to “Top 10 Tuesday: Things I Learned On My 1st Day of Teaching

  1. rosa mendoza

    June 21, 2011 at 1:17 pm

    wow! you’re teaching! im inggit =) btw, astig yung being john malkovich kid mo =) have fun!

     
  2. bernice

    June 21, 2011 at 1:58 pm

    it’s go to know you’re discovering the joys and pains of teaching. 🙂

    About #9, I give them writing exercises they’ll enjoy. I usually encourage students to keep a weekly journal, where they write whatever I ask them to. At first, it was very difficult for me (and for them also). I had to correct grammar and spelling. But, at the end of the semester, I saw that most students improved.

    Note: I am teaching Math majors. Obviously, they have no interest in writing also. But I have to teach them somehow, so that they will be able to write proofs clearly.

     
    • bernice

      June 21, 2011 at 1:58 pm

      *it’s good to know…

       
  3. IrisC

    June 21, 2011 at 5:45 pm

    Yey for teacher Ida! hehe. So anong tawag nila sayo? Ms Torres? Maam? or just plain cool, Ida? =)

    “I did not respect my teachers enough. One class in and already I realize how tough it is.”

    Funny, I can actually say the same thing about being a mom =)

    Yaan mo, magiisip ako ng ways on how to get kids to write and I’ll tell you!

     
  4. idaflutterby

    June 22, 2011 at 9:40 am

    Rosa – yup, siya nga ang mukhang pinaka astig sa students ko. hehe

    Bernice – thanks for the tip! im thinking of asking them to start a blog actually. sige, hihingi ako ng advice sayo Teacher Bernice ha. hehe

    Iris – Haha, so far they haven’t called me anything. Sige, keep em coming!

     
    • morks

      June 23, 2011 at 11:14 am

      Idea #1: let them watch clips, something thought provoking, or something simple at first, and require them to write down thoughts on it. Start with 100 words, then 150, then 200, you get the idea. =)

       
  5. Anne

    June 23, 2011 at 2:50 pm

    Wow, good for you my dear. Nakakatuwa namang mabasa iyang mga bagay na iyan. Parang marami ka talagang realizations. Now, ako magsusulat ng ganyan kapag na-employ na ako.

     

Leave a Reply

 
