RSS

TV Thursday: My Favorite Shows From the US Fall Season (Drama/Action)

17 Jun

Now that we have a few months’ vacation from the US Fall TV season, I’d like to share with you my favorite shows of the past few months, and if you’re interested, maybe you’d like to try them out too. That is, if they’re showing it on cable channels. If you’re nice, I can even lend you my downloadsūüôā

In no particular order

FRINGE

I’ve found my new Lost and X-Files! Why I wasn’t that riveted in the 1st season, the 2nd one blew me away, and this 3rd one has gotten me obsessed! The mythology of the show is well thought-out while the one episode cases are¬†bizarrely riveting. And don’t get me started on the acting: Anna Torv (Olivia), Joshua Jackson (yes, that’s Pacey and Charlie Conway to you), John Noble (Denethor in the LOTR series and Walter Bishop here) all deserve the critics’ love they’ve been getting.

 

 

 

THE GOOD WIFE 

 

I’m a sucker for procedural shows, but this just goes beyond the case-of-the-week type of show. It answers the question, What happens to the Good Wife after she stands by her fallen man and their whole world just falls apart because he’s a cheating and lying jackass public official? Julianna Margulies is just mesmerizing as the aforementioned wife, and she has an amazing supporting cast, particularly the enigmatic Kalinda (Archie Panjabi) and the delightfully manipulative Eli Gold (Alan Cumming)

 

BLUE BLOODS

Again, I just love me some crime and police procedural shows. But what made this stand out for me is the strong family bond (maybe I just got tired of all the dysfunctional families on TV) between these three generations (soon to be four!) of law enforcement officers. Tom Selleck is the perfect 2nd generation patriarch and my favorite New Kid on the Block Donnie Whalberg is solid as a no-nonsense cop.

 

PRETTY LITTLE LIARS

 

My guilty pleasure of this season. While others are still hooked on Gossip Girl or 90210, this was my high school drama of choice. Not only is it full of beautiful girls and boys, but there’s a murder-mystery somewhere in the middle of all that teenage drama. It won’t win any awards (script and acting is at best, campy and laughable) but it still gets me to watch week after week

 

HAWAII FIVE-0

Another guilty pleasure (meaning it is not critically acclaimed but I love it) and at last, Alex O’Loughlin has a show that went beyond the 1st Season! The unfortunate (yet extremely hot) star of quickly cancelled shows like Moonlight and Three Rivers stars in this reboot of the 1960s hit with the¬†ubiquitous¬†song that you always have to dance too, Hawaiian-style of course. The added bonus of having former Lost (Jin!) and Battlestar Galactica (Boomer!)¬†stars was just the cherry on top. Oh, and of course, the beach!

 

THE KILLING

 

The middle episodes kind of lagged, but oh my goodness, the beginning and now, we’re almost towards the end! This is 24 meets European indie movie meets CSI meets Twin Peaks. It’s kinda hard to explain, but if you like your murder mysteries full of atmosphere and slow, burning tension, then you’ll join me in my adoration of this US remake of a Danish TV show

 
3 Comments

Posted by on June 17, 2011 in TV Thursday

 

Tags: , , , , ,

3 responses to “TV Thursday: My Favorite Shows From the US Fall Season (Drama/Action)

  1. IrisC

    June 17, 2011 at 2:25 pm

    Yey get out the DVD list!

    Crime and procedural shows – uhm I got stuck at Ally McBeal. hehe. Not my cup of tea. I’m more of the CSI-gore kind.

    PLL huh? Interesting, mapanood nga. Aside from GG (which i never got past after season 2 bec the love teams got so confusing already it’s so cliche), I don’t like chick tv flicks. too much drama I guess.

    And The Killing… I always skip this whenever I see it showing on Jack TV! Sayang, I missed it. I hope they have reruns. Or better yet, I think I’ll visit my suking tindahan *wink wink*

    Patay tayo niyan, hindi ko pa nga tapos yung futbol DVD! haha.

     
  2. Wrigley Santos

    June 18, 2011 at 6:25 am

    Pretty Little Liars & The Killing…check! I gotta watch Blue Bloods – I love Tom Selleck and Donnie Wahlberg. And Hawaii Five-o, I gotta watch it if Boomer is there. I have a big crush on her!

     
  3. idaflutterby

    June 21, 2011 at 2:01 pm

    Iris – Crime and procedural shows are the CSI-type shows. Haha. Ally McBeal is so not on my radar either. Hehe. The Klling, you have to start from the beginning, kase it’s just one murder they’re investigating. One episode is one day.

    Wrigs – yeah, Blue Bloods is awesome. Didn’t think a police drama can actually make me cry

     

Leave a Reply

 
