RSS

An Old Classic, A Groundbreaking Documentary and an Epic-Serye

01 May

I did something I hadn’t done since my college days, during our Broadcast Communication 101 days: do a studio tour of a local network. I kept expecting Kenneth from 30 Rock to pop up anytime and give one of his weird diatribes. Fortunately (and maybe unfortunately) he didn’t show up and it was just a normal but fun of all the new studios of GMA Network. They invited bloggers to come up to the studios, most like me, for the first time, and to explore all the tv and radio studios that we only see on our screens all gussied up for the different programs. This time we got to see the bare studios, witness their state-of-the-art lighting systems at work and got to pose for pictures on the set (them, not me. haha)

Some random facts that interested me during the tour

  • the sculpture in the Timog Area was made by the famous monument-builder Ed Castrillo, who I had the pleasure of interviewing before
  • DWLS (now Barangay LS) was named after Loreto Stewart, the wife of Uncle Bob Stewart (the former owner of GMA back in the day)
  • Studio 1, where all the old GMA shows were shot, with the concrete bleachers and all, is now just a chroma studio, since they have bigger and more modern studios (a nostalgic piece of trivia for me)
But the main purpose for the bloggers’ briefing was for them to introduce their newest programs for May. As part of my birthday resolution this year, I promised myself that I would watch more local shows, and so 3 shows got me excited
Chatting it up with THE Wilma Galvante
Amaya
You’ve probably seen the short previews for this first ever epic-serye starring Marian Rivera (I’m not her biggest fan, but I’m willing to give her the benefit of the doubt on this one). While it is not based on any particular historical character, the show boasts of a well-researched cultural storyline and of course amazing visual effects and production design. It is their most expensive teleserye to date. 
This interests me because I’ve always believed that our history and culture is rich enough to spawn epic stories like these and we don’t need to “borrow” Western storylines to create interesting and stunning shows or movies.
Amaya is set to premiere this May 30. Click here for an interview with the star talking about her biggest project to date.

Blusang Itim
Okay, I will now admit it: When I was young, I used to devour Aliwan Komiks like there was no tomorrow. And one of my favorite stories ever was Blusang Itim. And yes, I was a Snooky Serna fan too, and when they adapted this into a movie, I watched it too. There was something about Ugly Duckling stories that appealed to me then.
So I am intrigued with this newest adaptation of that beloved classic, starring Robin Padilla’s daughter, Kylie in her first starring role. Apparently, she had to undergo the whole audition process before convincing the powers that be that she deserved the role. Other featured actors are from showbiz royalty too: Frank Magalona  is the son of the late Francis Magalona and Winwyn Marquez  is of course, the daughter of actors-turned politicians Joey Marquez and Alma Moreno. 
Blusang Itim will start on May 16, in GMA Dramarama sa Hapon.

I am a huge fan of GMA News and Public Affairs documentaries, and this one looks exceptional as always. Given the recent renewed interest and fear of earthquakes, Vicky Morales and the team of senior reporters including Kara David, Mariz Umali and Cesar Apolinario travel from Luzon to Mindanao to find out which cities and provinces are the more likely to experience natural disasters in the event of even more seismic shifts.
I’m a budding environmental geek so I am looking forward to seeing this as they talk about fault lines, seismic activity, epicenters and ground zeroes. Scary stuff, but fascinating all the same. Ground Zero will be shown on May 1 in the evening on GMA’s SNBO.

To find out more about the new shows that GMA is unveiling for this May, visit their webiste here. And you can also watch this video


 
3 Comments

Posted by on May 1, 2011 in Pop Goes the Culture

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

3 responses to “An Old Classic, A Groundbreaking Documentary and an Epic-Serye

  1. Nix

    May 2, 2011 at 4:42 am

    Hey Ida! Nice meeting you at the studio tour, that was fun 😀 Sabay-sabay tayong manuod ng Amaya, hahaha!

     
  2. Daryll

    May 3, 2011 at 2:14 am

    Hi sis! Glad to meet new gurls [also to you Nix!] don’t know what to watch, too many shows so little time and a toddler to run after. =)
    Hope to see yo guys soon!

     
  3. Daryll

    May 3, 2011 at 2:19 am

    Hi Ida! Added you to my blogroll….http://www.deiville.info/p/x-links-badges.html

     

Leave a Reply

 
