RSS

Top Ten Tuesday: Top 10 Footballers That Make Me Go All Fangirly

29 Mar

Guys, you had better close your eyes or not read this at all

You have been warned: This is purely a fangirl and girly-girl post. I’ve been a “serious” football fan for almost a year now, but every once in a while, I have got to let the inner fangirl out so she won’t feel so deprived. And this is just one of those days. These players’ footballing skills play a major part in why I think they’re hot but some are just majorly eye-candy.

1. Fernando Torres / Nando

Plays for: Chelsea FC (much to my heartbreak) and Spain NT (where I first fell in love with him)

Known As/For: El Nino (The Kid), Liverpool fell in love with him then he broke Liverpool’s heart; one of the best strikers until a year ago when injury struck and until now, he’s still trying to get back in form

Why I Love Him: The freckles, the bitchface, the beautiful wife, the adorable kids, the hair (when he was still blond). And of course, the skillzzzz.

2. Kaka

Plays for: Real Madrid and Brazil NT

Known As/For: One of the best creative midfielders a few years back until (same story as Nando); Had the most expensive transfer fee when AC Milan sold him to Real Madrid, until Crissy Poo smashed that record

Why I Love Him: The gentle smile, the eyebrows, the gorgeous wife, the adorable kid. But most of all, he’s very vocal about his faith and that’s a big thumbs up in my book

3. Xabi Alonso

Plays for: Real Madrid and Spain NT

Known As/For: One of the best midfielders of today (2nd in my book); the major reason why Liverpool is not in the Top 4 anymore

Why I Love Him: His sense of style, how he rarely smiles, the ginger beard, and yes, i love myself a great midfielder

4. Aly Borromeo

Plays for: Kaya FC and Philippine NT (Azkals)

Known As/For: Captain Fantastic – he’s the captain for both teams

Why I Love Him: Chiseled features, confident smile and there’s something about strong central defenders that brings out the damsel in me 🙂

5. Jack Wilshere

Plays for: Arsenal and England NT

Known as/for: The future of England (and Arsenal too)

Why I Love Him: The dimples, the funny tweets, the cute dog, and the desire and enthusiasm to play as many games for club and country

 

 

6. Iker Casillas

Plays for: Real Madrid and Spain NT

Known as/for: San Iker, Best Goalkeeper during the World Cup, one of the world’s best goalkeepers, candidate for sweetest boyfriend (see video below)

Why I Love Him: aside from the reasons above, just look at him 🙂 He can also have a secondary career as a model. And of course this video

Why I Love Him: The dimples, the funny tweets, the puppy love, and the desire and enthusiasm to play as many games for club and country

7. Yoann Gourcuff

Plays for: Lyon and France NT

Known As/For: The only bright spot in France’s dismal World Cup

Why I Love Him: Just look at those eyelashes and cheekbones and abs and…wait I lost my train of thought

 

 

8. Pep Guardiola

Plays for: Used to play for and now coaches my absolute favorite club Barcelona

Known for: Considered one of the, if not the, best football manager of current times, winning Barcelona the sextuple (six trophies in six competitions in one year)

Why I Love Him: The intensity coupled with the movie-star looks (and the impeccable suits to boot) is just so darn attractive

 

9. Tim Cahill

Plays for: Everton and Australian NT

Known As/For: Scored the first ever goal for Australia in a World Cup; Has one of the best heads in the Prem League (meaning he scores a lot of goals with his head)

Why I Love Him: Two words – abstastic and tattoos

 

 

10. Aitor Ocio

I know absolutely nothing about him except that he plays for Athletic Bilbao. But just look at him…

That is the tame photo. Click here to see what I sometimes take a peek at when I’m feeling down.

HALL OF FAME: David Beckham

Every football fangirl  has to start somwhere, and who better than The Davide Beckham to make you addicted to football

Special Mentions:

Sergio Ramos (Real Madrid and Spain)

David Villa (Barcelona and Spain)

Mikel Arteta (Everton)


Steven Gerrard (Liverpool and England)

Anton del Rosario (Kaya FC and Azkals)


Theo Walcott (Arsenal and England)

 

 

 
5 Comments

Posted by on March 29, 2011 in Top 10 Tuesday

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

5 responses to “Top Ten Tuesday: Top 10 Footballers That Make Me Go All Fangirly

  1. Iris

    March 29, 2011 at 11:16 pm

    these guys are just… i dont know, i lack words for them. haha. i have yet to see 8 out of 10 in action, but im sure since they’re playing World already, they’re way up there in skills.

    on the flipside, i love their names. i know na where to look for boys names in the future =)

     
    • idaflutterby

      March 29, 2011 at 11:19 pm

      Haha, dont worry, once I give you the DVDs I burned for you, you’ll see most of them in action. In the meantime, google for their pics na lang. Haha. Eye-candy talaga. Pero magaling din most of them (except Aitor, I really havent seen him play. Haha)

       
  2. Liee

    March 29, 2011 at 11:24 pm

    I wanna do a list too! Hahaha… And for the record, I never liked Beckham even when he was playing for Madrid. I actually hated that he went to Madrid. Akala ko noon he’ll go to Milan! I tried liking him but *meh* hahahah

     
    • idaflutterby

      March 29, 2011 at 11:31 pm

      Haha, you are probably the first girl I’ve met who doesn’t like Becks.
      But anways, who will be in your list, aside from Sese of course. Haha

       
  3. Liee

    March 30, 2011 at 10:05 am

    Sergio Ramos is the only footballer I wanted to have sex with hahahahah

    But let’s see…
    – Pablo Aimar (Argentina NT & Benfica, ex-Valencia) is my football first love. I wanted to marry him but turns out he was already married *HEARTBREAK* I still love him by the way. drama. hahaha
    – I wanted Raul (ex-Spanish NT, ex-Madrid, now at Schalke) and Guti (ex-Madrid) to be my Kuyas, ninongs of my children, etc.
    – David Trezeguet (ex-Juventus — and I hated Juve — and ex-French NT)
    – Leo Messi (Barça and Argentina) is someone I truly look up to, though not too high since he’s not that much taller than me hahahahah. No, but seriously, Cule or Madridista, there is no way that anyone will hate Lionel Messi.
    – Fernando Torres (oh you know his teams hahah). I made a shirt that says FERNANDO TORRES in big letters. It doesn’t fit me now. Too bad. I love Olalia too and their kids. Olalia is my favorite WAG, actually.

     

Leave a Reply

 
