RSS

Top 10 Books I Bought in 2010 But I Still Haven’t Read

09 Jan

Everytime I enter a bookstore (OMF Lit Bookshops included),  I have to restrain myself from buying a book, even if I have the budget for it, because I still have a long list of bought-but-unread books just waiting to be picked up from my bookshelves. Here are the best of the lot that i have to read in the next few weeks or else I’ll be even more behind on my reading list

1. Stories, edited by Neil Gaiman and Al Sarrantonio

Ever since he told me about this book when I interviewed him early in 2010 (yes, yabang moment ito), I was so excited to have my own copy. And i bought this on the last day of 2010, so I’m not too behind

2. Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins

I know I’m late in the game already, but I wanna see what the fuss is about and thanks to Iris, I finally got the initiative to have my own copy. To read it is the next step.

3. Water for Elephants by Sara Gruen

Again, one of those hyped books that’s apparently being turned into a movie (with Robert Pattinson *shudder*). Carnivals have always fascinated me and this seems like a good companion to Carnivale, the short-lived but brilliant TV series.



4. The Lost Hero by Rick Riordan

A sort of sequel to the Percy Jackson series wherein we meet new demi-gods while searching for, you guessed it, a lost hero. Hopefully can be finished in one sitting.

5. The Red Pyramid by Rick Riordan (again)

He tackles Egyptian mythology in this first book in the Kane Chronicles series, with a brother and sister duo as lead characters. Again, easy enough to devour in one sitting, if I can just find the time.

6. Ash Wednesday by Ethan Hawke

Yes, that Ethan Hawke. This book came out a few years ago but I found it in a 2nd hand book shop for only 50 pesos. I liked his first novel, The Hottest State, in fairness. Fairly juvenile, but entertaining nonetheless.


7. Crave by Chris Tomlinson

Thanks to my job at OMF Literature (yes, shameless plugging ito), I’ve been discovered a whole new world of Christian authors besides Max Lucado and Philip Yancey. This book by Chris Tomlinson (not the singer, that’s Chris Tomlin) caught my attention because it’s subtitle is “Wanting so much more of God” and that is where I am right now in my spiritual journey. Again, time is my enemy so I haven’t started this yet.

8. Unchristian by Dave Kinnaman and Gabe Lyons

How the world perceives Christians has always been a sort of obsession of mine, and this book is based on a lot of studies and research by the Barna Group on why a lot of Americans hate the idea of Christianity, sadly because of Christians themselves. Can’t wait to finally start on this, once I finish my current books.

9. 3 Margaret Atwood books from Misha – thanks for almost completing my Atwood collection!!!

10. A Beautiful Game by Tom Watt

This was my official Christmas gift to myself, my first ever football book. And technically, I’ve already browsed through all the pictures, but haven’t gotten around to reading the stories of players from around the world and how football changed their lives.

And this is me, trying to make sense of my library


 
4 Comments

Posted by on January 9, 2011 in Top 10 Lists

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

4 responses to “Top 10 Books I Bought in 2010 But I Still Haven’t Read

  1. Ruth

    January 9, 2011 at 3:08 pm

    Hi Ida, Do you already have Atwood’s The Handmaid’s Tale? I have a copy I left in my mom’s house in Laguna. Let me know and you can have it. I’ll get it next time we go back to the province. Probably by summer🙂

     
  2. Iris

    January 13, 2011 at 10:30 am

    you’re welcome! read na, read na! =p a warning though, once you read the first book, better be prepared the rest of the series. hehe.

    and ethan hawke? talaga, i didn’t know that.

     
  3. y

    January 29, 2011 at 2:35 am

    Nice collection. I’d like to read that Unchristian too and that football book! hahaha… Are they available in our local bookstores?

    btw, I didn’t know Ethan Hawke have a book.🙂

     
    • idaflutterby

      February 7, 2011 at 10:48 pm

      Unchristian is available at OMF Bookshops. Hehe. The football book, I bought it in Fully Booked Rockwell, last copy na eh. And yes, Ethan has two books out already. Not bad, although not excellent din

       

Leave a Reply

 
