RSS

35 Movies of 2010

04 Jan

All of these are in no particular order

5 BEST MOVIES I WATCHED IN 2010

Inception – I’ve seen it 3 times already and it still amazes and confuses me. I haven’t seen that other Oscar frontrunner, so this is still my pick for Best Picture

Deathly Hallows – next to Prisoner of Azkaban, this is my fave of the HP franchises. It would have been more awesome in 3D and if they actually showed the rockstar Weasley aka Charlie

The Kids Are Alright – anything that has Annette Bening and Julianne Moore has my vote. But then a brilliant script just blew me away. Oh and: Mark Ruffalo. ‘Nuff said

Shutter Island – Leonardo + Scorsese = magic. Oh and Mark Ruffalo again. Sigh. But fangirling aside, brilliant script, cinematography, music

Toy Story 3 – do I even need to explain? Crying at animated characters imminent (but of course) impossible death is a winner in my book

 

5 MOVIES I SHOULD HAVE WATCHED IN A MOVIE THEATER

The Social Network – it’s getting all the Oscar buzz so I should probably see if it is indeed better than Inception

Scott Pilgrim – It’s not my fault that i didn’t get to see this because some stupid distributor thought that it wouldn’t click here in PH. Why??? Do you think we’re boring and “uncultured” people?

Despicable Me – I wanted to see the “It’s so fluffy” girl in 3D

How to Train Your Dragon – side note: the son of a former boss of mine was looking for the book in National Bookstore and the saleslady says “Ay sorry, wala po, meron lang training books for cats, dogs, etc”.

Kick-Ass – all that blood and gore on a moviescreen would have been awesome


5 MOVIES I’M GLAD I DIDN’T WATCH IN A MOVIE THEATER

The Last Airbender – how could you M Night???

Devil – and again, what the hey M Night? Saw this on the bus earlier today and I was laughing, then I realized it wasn’t a comedy

Eclipse – I barely saw the first two films and what I saw made me shudder, so why the heck would I watch this?

Percy Jackson – since I loved the book too much, if I saw this in the theater, I would have thrown something at the screen

Valentine’s Day – all those stars and you couldn’t invest in a decent script???


5 MOVIES I LOVED WHICH OTHERS DIDN’T

Alice in Wonderland – maybe it’s coz it’s my favorite childhood story or Johnny Depp is in it or Tim Burton directed it or Anne Hathaway was charming or Helena Bonham Carter was awesome, but I really dug this movie

Clash of the Titans – forget the 3D which was utterly laughable. Sam Worthington rocks

Iron Man 2 – It’s Robert Downey Jr for crying out loud!

Robin Hood – Yes, some parts were sleepy, but for me to actually like a Russel Crowe movie is a very rare occurrence, so something about this movie must have been good

Daybreakers – five words: Ethan Hawke as a vampire


5 MOVIES THAT MOST PEOPLE LOVED BUT I HATED

Avatar (included in 2010 coz they re-released it) – 3D effects aside, be honest, did it actually have a decent story and script?

The Karate Kid – pales in comparison to Ralph Macchio and Pat Morita

Salt – not even the charms of Angelina Jolie can save this movie for me

Eat, Pray, Love – not even the charms of Julia Roberts can save this movie for me

Shrek Forever After – the franchise stopped being funny for me after the 2nd movie


5 MOVIES SHOWN IN 2010 THAT I HAVE YET TO SEE

Somewhere – Sofia Coppola hasn’t failed me yet (yes, i was one of the few who liked Marie Antoinette) and I had a huge crush on Stephen Dorff before

Never Let Me Go – Carey Mulligan. Kiera Knightley. Andrew Garfield. Directed by Mark Romanek. Based on one of my favorite books by Kazuo Ishiguro. This should be legendary

127 Hours – Although I might faint in that infamous scene, I still want to see this badly

Black Swan – Darren Aronofsky is another one of my favorite directors who hasn’t failed me yet. And Natalie Portman is apparently Oscar-worthy here

The Ghost Writer – Roman Polanski may be a fugitive but you can’t deny he’s a great director. Oh, and Ewan McGregor and Pierce Brosnan. Swoon


5 MOVIES YOU SHOULD WATCH (BUT PROBABLY HAVEN’T YET)

Winter’s Bone – Jennifer Lawrence is my bet for Best Actress. And this is her first major film!

True Grit – the Coen Brothers do it again. I’m not a fan of Westerns, but this is just powerful for me

The Girl Who Played With Fire – see it before they show the Hollywood remake! And also see The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo first or you might get confused

The Town – Ben Affleck is shaping up to be a good director. His first film Gone Baby Gone was just as awesome

Let Me In – Hollywood remake of Let The Right One In. I absolutely adored the original, and this one is almost as good

 

 

 

 

 
5 Comments

Posted by on January 4, 2011 in Pop Goes the Culture, Uncategorized

 

Tags:

5 responses to “35 Movies of 2010

  1. Kiten Capili

    January 4, 2011 at 5:28 pm

    I loved Black Swan and The Town!🙂 Really good movies.

     
  2. Kiten Capili

    January 4, 2011 at 5:29 pm

    …and Natalie Portman has reached new heights with that one.

     
    • idaflutterby

      January 4, 2011 at 5:39 pm

      I heard! I wanna watch it on the big screen, for full effect! Hehe

       
  3. Liee

    January 4, 2011 at 5:36 pm

    “Ay sorry, wala po, meron lang training books for cats, dogs, etc”.

    HAHAHAHAHA

    Excuse me? hahahahahaha

     
    • idaflutterby

      January 4, 2011 at 5:40 pm

      If I was there, baka nabatukan ko yung saleslady. My boss’ son could only stare perplexedly at her daw. haha

       

Leave a Reply

 
