RSS

Songs I Can’t Get Out of My Head Lately Vol 1

13 Oct

(Note: This playlist is heavily influenced by the Relevant Magazine podcast)

1. How He Loves by John Mark McMillan – the Relevant gang calls this the “Shout of the Lord” of this new generation. He had me at “If grace is an ocean, we’re all sinking.”

2.  Passion Play by William Fitzimons – This song just about kills me everytime I listen to it because it reminds me of His stubborn love even when I was hiding and pushing Him away. “I should not have hid where my heart can’t follow”

3. City by Sara Bareilles – No matter how many times I shuffle my Ipod, this song always comes up and haunts me

4. Brand New Day as covered by Aly Michalka – I usually consider Sting covers blasphemous, but this is one of the few I like. Go Hellcats!

5. Take Me Away by Pink Slip (aka Lindsay Lohan’s band on Freaky Friday) – because once upon a time, LL was awesome

6. Your Heart is an Empty Room by Death Cab for Cutie – my love song to myself. “But you shed not a single tear for the things that you didn’t need
Cause you knew you were finally free”

7. Radioactive by Kings of Leon – this song just sticks to my head like glue. He really sounds like a young Bono doesn’t he? Even Bono says so himself

8. Neighborhood #1 by Arcade Fire – Of course it’s not a worship song per se, but when they start wailing “Purify the colours, purify my mind, and spread the ashes of the colours over this heart of mine!”, I am speaking and singing to Him alone

9. Stay (Faraway So Close) by U2 – you always have to have a U2 song that you can’t get out of your head

10. Tracing by John Mayer – still on a John Mayer hangover, despite the hotel trashing rumors. Let’s just stick to the music eh? We already know that most rock stars are douches anyway

11. 15 Step by Radiohead – that drum beat and Thom Yorke’s voice is just so addictive and mesmerizing

12. Monday by Carlo Dall’ Anese e Fabio Castro – heard this song in a Fernando Torres goal compilation video and it’s just such a rousing and beautiful song

 
 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
