RSS

Top 10 Shows That Made Me Weep When They Ended Part 1

28 Aug

You know me and my TV shows: the world stops when I’ve finished downloading the latest episode or if I’m in the mood for a marathon all by myself. And I read a quote somewhere that maybe he’s really in a coma, and that his favorite TV shows were the “real world” trying to wake him up from years of unconsciousness.

I feel that way a lot of times. So when a TV show that I love ends, it really is emotionally catastrophic for me. I feel like I lost a really good friend or a family member. Weeks after the show ends, I still feel like I’m in a daze and I keep going back and watching my fave episodes, all because I’m still in a state of denial. It does get better eventually, but then another favorite TV shows and it happens all over again.

Here are 10 shows that made me weep, whether they were comedy,drama or action, when they ended. In no particular order

1. Buffy The Vampire Slayer

I spent 7 seasons telling people not to be turned off by the title because this is one of the best shows ever. Around 2 or 3 people believed me. But I didn’t care because I knew that they were missing a lot by not following Buffy Summers and her Scoobies. That final battle just about killed me, and when Sunnydale finally sunk into the ground, I knew that it was really over. Well, until the graphic novels came out. But vampires and slayers have never been the same for me

2. Lost

From the moment that Jack Shepard opened his eyes up to the last moment of the series when he…(okay I won’t spoil it coz some of you still haven’t watched), this series just captured my imagination and my brain cells. Before there was Inception, there was Lost to eff up our brains. But more than all the mysteries and plot twists, I really fell in love with each and every character, hero or villain, real or imagined. And until now, I still feel the loss very vividly

3. Friends

Yes, I’ve watched each episode of every season more than twice. Yes, I’ve also debated with myself whether I was a Monica, a Phoebe or a Rachel (in the end, I think I was more of a less funny Chandler). Yes, these “friends” got me through a real tough time in my life. And yes, the whole final episode, I was in tears and when they finally left the apartment for the last time, I bawled my eyes out.

4. Battlestar Galactica

I was never a Trekkie or a Babylon 5 or a Stargate girl. People are sometimes surprised, given my geeky nature. But Battlestar Galactica is the first sci-fi show that I followed religiously, so to speak. And for a show that is set in a different sphere than our reality, it had more insights into relevant world issues than the news and talk shows. The ending left a lot to be desired, but the journey towards that end was spectacular

5. Veronica Mars

Why can’t Americans keep intelligent teen shows like this on the air while trashy fare like 90210 and that reality show The Hills kept getting renewed? This is another one of those really good shows that were cancelled before it could resolve any of its long-standing plots and mysteries. Gone too soon, I tell you. And Kristen Bell deserves another shot at TV glory. She oozes talent from her very pores. She was the one good thing on Heroes that last season and they killed her off. Figures

To be continued….

 
2 Comments

Posted by on August 28, 2010 in Pop Goes the Culture, Top 10 Lists

 

Tags: , , , , ,

2 responses to “Top 10 Shows That Made Me Weep When They Ended Part 1

  1. willy

    October 11, 2010 at 6:41 pm

    miss veronica mars! 3 seasons were ever so short!

     
  2. willy

    October 11, 2010 at 6:42 pm

    and lost too! although got stuck in season 4, would need to catch up quick!

     

Leave a Reply

 
