RSS

100 Things I Love Project: #8 – Lola’s Sneak Hug Attacks

25 Aug

If you’ve known me for a long time, you also know how “colorful” my relationship is with my lola. Up until a few years ago, there was still a part of me that was a little bit terrified of her (partly because of an incident involving a screaming match and a knife and me running around the house). Don’t get me wrong, I love her to death, but she was a pretty dominant personality. Just ask Mama and her sisters, and they have metaphorical battle wounds to show you. And my brother, oh well, you’d have to spend a day (or a week) just to hear all his stories.

So it is was with great surprise to me that our relationship began to improve the past few years. I guess it’s true what they say, distance makes the heart grow fonder. My moving out of our house was the catalyst for me to become the “favorite apo” here in the Philippines. My brother had his phase when he was in the seminary, so I guess we’re even.

One of the things I love most now is whenever I go home, Lola gives me sneak hug attacks, whether I’m at the sink washing dishes, or standing in front of the mirror and wondering what the heck happened to me, or i’m just sitting in the dining table aka my workstation at home. She is now very frail and bony and it’s quite scary to hug her back with all the love that I’m feeling because I’m scared I might crush her. But those short, simple hugs are just some of the most precious moments for me, because I know that she won’t be here forever.

Everyday, I am just thankful that God has given me one more day with her, whether I’m home or not.

And every sneak hug attack just fills me with so much warmth and love for the greatest grandmother in the world

So if you still have your gramma with you, give her a hug whenever you can okay? Life is just too short and grandmothers are one of God’s greatest gifts to us

 
1 Comment

Posted by on August 25, 2010 in 100 Things I Love

 

Tags: , ,

One response to “100 Things I Love Project: #8 – Lola’s Sneak Hug Attacks

  1. trixie

    August 26, 2010 at 1:56 pm

    This is off topic, idz. Joke’s back in Manila. Meet daw tayo next week. Game?

     

Leave a Reply

 
