RSS

My Must List – week of July 26

28 Jul

It’s been more than a month since I last posted a Must List, so here goes

1. Summer TV shows

I don’t get attached too much with summer TV shows since they almost always become cannon fodder (meaning, canceled before they even had a chance). There are some interesting shows this year, notably Happy Town (think Twin Peaks), Persons Unknown (trying to be the next Lost), The Gates (vampires, werewolves, witches – all in one subdivision!), Haven (a more serious Eureka), Memphis Beat (a detective who moonlights as an Elvis-like singer), Scoundrels (a family of criminals trying to go straight) and my personal favorite, Covert Affairs, which has the potential to be the new, funnier Alias

2. ESPERANZA SPALDING!!!

And yes, I deliberately used all caps. It’s so stupid that I’ve only recently listened to her after several overly enthusiastic recommendations from different friends. But better late than never! Her voice lulls me to sleep every night. And I can’t stop watching videos of her live performances.

3. Good News About Injustice

I’ve always been a big fan of International Justice Mission, and because of my new job, I’ve had the chance to read the first few 10th anniversary edition of this amazing book, written by a former Senior Trial Attorney for the US turned Department of Justice turned CEO of IJM. I firmly believe that Christians should be at the forefront of the fight against injustice, and this book tells story after story of heartbreak, unwavering faith, grace and love.

4. Study all the football league 101s

Even though the World Cup is over, football still has a stronghold on my heart, and I have to familiarize myself with Premier League, La Liga, Bundesliga, heck, even MLS! The only problem now is where to watch the games, since sports cable channels only show Premier League games.

5. Learn to cook sinigang, niliga, tinola

It’s about time that I personally cook my 3 favorite Tagalog dishes. Let’s just hope I don’t torture my housemates with my “experiments”. Or I don’t burn our apartment down. Or I actually push through with this and not just continue buying fastfood or carinderia food

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on July 28, 2010 in Must List

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
