RSS

100 Things I Love Project: #3 – John and Kaligay

22 Jul

Okay, I know they should be considered two items, but pretty soon (wink, wink) they will become one.

John was my first honest-to-goodness guy friend. Contrary to what you might surmise about my personality, I don’t make friends with guys easily. For some reason that still eludes me to this day, I used to find it really awkward to talk to/relate to/interact with guys. But when I met John in my first year of college, we just sort of clicked, and I mean that in a strictly platonic, non-marrying way. He has been many things to me over our more than 10 years of friendship: brother, tormentor, counselor, bandmate, churchmate, neighbour, housemate, post-breakup hugger, mp3 provider, corny jokes-jejemon-imitator, football obsession partner, one-of-my-best-friends. I still don’t understand why he likes garlic and boy bands, but I do know that I love him to bits and pieces.

I met Kaligay when she was just a 16 year old freshman in UP and I was a wise beyond my years (or I would like to believe) senior. She was unlike any freshman I’ve met, because she was brash and irreverent and so not shy, but she wormed her way into the hearts of us older people at Christmass (that’s Christian Mass Communicators to you). And yes, she wormed her way into John’s heart as well, much to our consternation, largely due to her age and our wish to “protect” her from John (that’s a whole other story). And over the years, she has also become most of the things I mentioned about John above, both as an individual, and as part of the “power couple”

I have seen their love story from the very beginning. I have been with them through the ligawan stage, the heartaches, the kilig moments, the “eewww…this is too mushy” moments, the pain, the joy.

I feel privileged that they have let me into their love story, which, as mushy and as cliched as it may sound, has led me to believe that there is a light at the end of the tunnel, even though it is a tunnel that I am still not willing to endure (haha). Theirs is a story of forgiveness, patience, endurance, persistence and joyful love.

And as I mentioned to them last night, they have played a crucial part in my own personal story of redemption and recovery, and for that I will be eternally grateful. I feel blessed to have their forgiveness, patience, endurance, persistence and joyful love.

I know I will cry on the big day. I won’t be able to help it. Two of the people I love most in this world getting married is a day worthy of those tears of joy

I love you John and Kaligay. And when I say I wish you all the best, I really do mean it, from the deepest recesses of my heart.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on July 22, 2010 in 100 Things I Love

 

Tags: , ,

One response to “100 Things I Love Project: #3 – John and Kaligay

  1. kaligay

    July 22, 2010 at 1:26 pm

    aaaaw, im teary-eyed. =(

    we love u too ate ids! =D

     

Leave a Reply

 
