RSS

100 Things I Love Project: #1 – Performing Songs and Stories in My Head

01 Jul

(DISCLAIMER: This post isnt about schizophrenia or any mental defect as the title might suggest)

Commuting is one of the necessary evils that plague us who have no cars/drivers/money for cabs. Whether it’s in a hot/humid/wet jeepney, a sardine-packed MRT or the long torturous bus ride through EDSA/NLEX/SLEX

And anyone who does this everyday nods their head vigorously.

But aside from the constant irritants (loud and/or smelly people, berzerk drivers, horrendous-its-not-funny-anymore traffic), one of the things that I absolutely dread is the inevitable boredom that comes while I’m on the road. I can only look at billboards for so long, and I get nauseated if I even dare to read. And don’t get me started on the choice of music/tv shows/movies of bus drivers

That is why I sincerely thank whoever invented portable music, because you probably saved my sanity (or whatever is left of it). Yes, I owned a discman and a walkman at one time or another (for those of you too young to remember, a discman is a circle-shaped thing that played CDs and a walkman is a rectangular box that played radio and cassette tapes)

And how do I even begin to thank Apple for giving us ipods? Anyhooo….

I’ve gotten to the point when even just listening to music is not enough. So I came up with this “game” where each song has a 4 minute short story attached to it.

A Paramore song is the first song a shy, young girl ever performs in public and she rocks it out to her heart’s content while the boy who payed no attention to her suddenly sees her in a different light

A Switchfoot song is the soundtrack to a guy walking around the city, with existential thoughts drifting through his mind, until there is a sudden downpour and the camera cinematically pans out

A Broken Social Scene song is being played by the DJ in a party and everyone is dancing and drinking and laughing, while a wallflower is slinking on the sides

A Damien Rice song is being written by a “bad boy” type who is trying to suppress his “sensitive side” but it comes out in the songs that he writes

A The Strokes song is being played in a seedy bar by a cover band that can’t seem to break into the big leagues

And it goes on and on and on

Doing this combines two things that I love: good music and making up stories in my head. It gets me out of having to be irritated with my seatmate who is loudly taking advantage of unli calls  or the fact that the vehicle hasn’t moved in 10 minutes as if we’re in a parking lot.

Try it sometime and extend your life a few more hours just because you didn’t give in to the stress of commuting

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on July 1, 2010 in 100 Things I Love

 

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
