RSS

Capsule Reviews of My Lonesome Movie Marathon

15 Jun

How did I spend my long weekend? Call it pathetic or something, but I did enjoy having a solo movie marathon. Sometimes watching movies on my own is therapeutic in its own way. So I decided to watch and re-watch a random sampling of my 300+ movie collection

Inkheart

The concept and the book was interesting enough: there are certain people in the world called “silvertongues” who have the power to bring characters from books into the real world. It would have been an idea made in heaven for bibliophiles like me. Unfortunately, the movie was anything but. I fell asleep in some parts and I only finished it to find out how it ended. Only two words made the movie bearable: Paul Bettany (and a cameo by real-life wife Jennifer Connely). Even the talented Helen Mirren and Jim Broadbent were wasted in this movie

Premonition

Before Sandra made The Blind Side, she had to star in drively shlock like this movie. Fortunately it was interesting drivel. The reviews were pretty bad, but i still found myself entertained with this movie about a woman who is confused as to whether her husband is really dead or not. And any movie that puts Julian McMahon (that’s Christian Troy of Nip/Tuck and Cole of Charmed) in a shower scene deserves my interest

Dear Zachary

To call this documentary devastating is an understatement. My eyes and heart ached from crying too much while watching it and afterwards, I wanted to eat a pint of ice cream. But more than the tragedy at the center of this film, it is also about the storytelling prowess of the filmmaker which was borne out of love, not to mention the amazing strength of the human spirit in the midst of unbearable pain. This is a highly recommended docu, just don’t read up on it beforehand so you can experience the full heart of the film

Valentine’s Day

I had to watch something brainless and funny after the depression-inducing Dear Zachary. Well at least I got 1 out of 2. For a movie that had a lot of A-list actors and a good director, they could have made a far better movie. It was occasionally funny and there were some sweet moments, but all in all, it was blah. If you want a good romantic ensemble movie, New York I Love You is waaay better. And thank goodness you’re a singer Taylor Swift, because as an actress, you were horrible!!!

An Education

New girl crush alert: Carey Mulligan! She is just mesmerizing in this coming of age tale set in the 1960s in England. It’s a quiet and simple story, but it’s Mulligan and the rest of the ensemble (Alfred Molina, Peter Skaarsgard, Dominic Cooper) that carry the film. “So, I went to read English books, and did my best to avoid the speccy, spotty fate that Helen had predicted for me. I probably looked as wide-eyed, fresh, and artless as any other student…But I wasn’t. One of the boys I went out with, and they really were boys, once asked me to go to Paris with him. And I told him I’d love to, I was dying to see Paris… as if I’d never been.”

Devil Wears Prada

I don’t think I can ever get tired of watching this movie, what with the fashion, Anne Hathaway’s transformation, Emily Blunt’s bitchiness, Stanley Tucci’s fairy godmother,  Adrien Griener’s scruffy charm, Simon Baker’s pre-The Mentalist hotness and of course Queen Meryl!!!

Confessions of a Shopaholic

I hated the book and all it stood for (chicklit, which I hate with a passion) so I was reluctant to see the movie. But I finally gave in out of idle curiosity. And the truth is, I didn’t like  the movie too. It’s saving grace is Isla Fisher, who is impossible to hate. And Hugh Dancy (Mrs Claire Danes to you) is the epitome of the word dashing. So it wasn’t a complete waste of 2 hours of my life

Almost Famous

I watched this for the nth time just to prove to myself that yes, I was born in the wrong era, and yes, my dream job is still to be a music journalist. And all throughout the movie, I kept thinking “Why isn’t Billy Crudup a big star?”. He is absolutely brilliant and charismatic in every movie. But the heart of this movie is of course, music, and set against a coming of age story (the best kind of  story, in my opinion), and excellent script and direction from Cameron Crowe, it is a near perfect movie for me

Music & Lyrics

If you know me, you know that I’m averse to romantic comedies. It’s not that I’m bitter or anything (ha!), it’s just not my cup of tea. So it’s rare that I actually like one and this is one of those rare moments. And it’s mainly because of four words. Hugh Grant Dancing and Singing!!!

 
1 Comment

Posted by on June 15, 2010 in I See Movies, Pop Goes the Culture

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

One response to “Capsule Reviews of My Lonesome Movie Marathon

  1. trixie

    June 18, 2010 at 7:13 am

    Idz, “Hugh Grant Dancing and Singing” has 5 words, not 4! hehehehe =) happy weekend =)

     

Leave a Reply

 
