RSS

10 Reasons Why I Loved/Hated The Half Blood Prince

19 Jul

5 Reasons Why I Loved It
HarryPotterandtheHalfBloodPrince

1. The cinematographer was Bruno Delbonnel, who was also the Director of Photography for Amelie and Across the Universe

2. The script had a good mixture of humor, romance, action, magic and melodrama. I found myself reacting to all elements, unlike with Transformers, which had all the elements above but failed miserably

3. Gandalf, ah, I mean Dumbledore, was becoming more and more like Gandalf. Which is always a good thing in my book

4. Luna. Bellatrix. Snape. Caricature-ish characters, yes, but I found them fascinating. Only Luna can pull off wearing a lion’s head in a Quidditch match. Only Helena Bonham Carter can give justice to the insanity of Bellatrix. And I adore Alan Rickman in whatever role he inhabits. And yes, Snape is my favorite Potter-verse character.
lunabella
snape18

5. For all her faults and her “borrowing” elements from Tolkien, CS Lewis and all other fantasy writers before her, JK Rowling is a pretty good storyteller

5 Reasons Why I Disliked It

1. No Bill/Fleur. Barely a Remus/Tonks sighting. If you’re gonna put in romance and the likes, why not include the two stories, even briefly. Yeah, I know you have to trim down the book to make it fit into 2 1/2 hours, but I would have loved to have seen the annoying Fleur stand by her man after Fenrir ripped Bill’s face. Or seen Tonks’ new Patronus and hear her declare her love for Remus Lupin, werewolf and all. Oh, and where was the fight scene in Hogwarts? An Order of the Phoenix and Death Eaters showdown is always very much welcome

2. Why didn’t they show the funeral? The merpeople, the centaurs, the giants, even Dolores Umbridge paying tribute to….the one who died (yes, there are still some people who dont know the one who died), that would have been an awesome ending to the movie

3. The Inferi were much scarier in the book and in my head. Here they were just…meh. Oh yeah, the Inferi were the undead who tried to drown Harry in the caves. Which is too similar to the Dead Marshes scene in Two Towers. Which leads to…

4. Is it just me, or does every fantasy movie now “borrow” (steal) scenes from The Lord of the Rings trilogy? Being a Tolkien purist (fanatic), it’s becoming annoying. Except for the Dumbledore/Gandalf comparison, I found myself scoffing (snorting) everytime I notice an LOTR reference (copycat)

5. Too long. Could’ve done with less Lavander. Less Slughorn. And that chase scene in the cornfields and the burning of the Weasley house? Pointless and unecessary

But I’m probably just nitpicking. I liked it more than I disliked it, and I wouldn’t mind watching it again. So yeah, go and watch. Otherwise, you will have no contribution to the watercooler conversation

 
2 Comments

Posted by on July 19, 2009 in Critique

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “10 Reasons Why I Loved/Hated The Half Blood Prince

  1. sputnitsa

    July 22, 2009 at 11:00 am

    I love that you know who the cinematographer was. I loved the cinematography in this film. Brilliantly crafted.
    🙂

     
  2. idaflutterby

    July 22, 2009 at 2:09 pm

    Yeah, that’s really one of the best things about the movie. Thanks for dropping by!

     

Leave a Reply

 
