RSS

Music Pimp # 1

15 Jul

A lot (okay, maybe not a lot, maybe 5) of people say that I have good taste in music. And I love recommending new and/or obscure artists to my friends. Making mixed CDs is one hobby of mine which I really, really love (please, ask me for a mixed CD, it’s been a while). So, why not make regular blog posts about artist that may be old, new, obscure or popular, which I hope you’ll enjoy. Bashing is also allowed, although for the most part, I hope you’ll agree with me

TECHY ROMANTICS
techy romantics
Anyone who knows me knows that I am not the biggest electronica fan. But the first time I heard them live, I fell in like with the genre, and I fell in love with the band. Just a few gigs more, and I might become an official groupie. Camyl’s voice is just heavenly, Ryan’s guitars are understated but effective and Dondi’s sampling is groovy. Their music is perfect for that moment when you’re sitting in the dark, a drink in one hand, friends around you, just silent and letting the music sink in. And no one will blame you if you suddenly want to jump and dance. Check out their music here. Be a fan also in their FB fan page here. I cannot wait for their album, coming soon. Oh, and did I mention that their song Photos Fade is my message alert tone? Right, Im a groupie alright.

IDA MARIA
IdaMaria
Okay, I am not a fan because her name is one name short of becoming my exact name (yes, my real name is Maria Elena Ida). I am a fan because her music is F-U-N!!! She has this song called “I Like You So Much Better When You’re Naked” and it doesn’t get fun-ner than that. Her songs are as cheeky as Lily Allen’s, but she has this deep, raspy voice that reminds me of Katrina from Katrina and the Waves. Oh and she’s Norwegian (always a cool factor for me) and she looks like she’s from the 40s, but with eyeliner

(for some reason the Naked video is not available due to copyright stuff, so here’s another song)

STARS
stars_band_photo
Indie music darlings Stars have been around for a few years now, but except for a few indie music aficionados here in the Philippines, they’re still relatively unknown. And I guess that’s one of the appeals of this group, that they make beautiful, eloquent music, and that they belong to only a handful of us. But I don’t want to be that selfish, so I want to share them with you. I can’t even pick a favorite song, because all of their songs speak to me; atmospheric, lush instrumentation, haunting melodies. But if I had to pick one, it would be the song below, my ode to that non-existent person who was supposed to be my destiny, but got lost along the way, and may never be found

Until the next edition….

 
2 Comments

Posted by on July 15, 2009 in Critique, Music is My Life

 

Tags: , , ,

2 responses to “Music Pimp # 1

  1. ailene

    July 15, 2009 at 10:37 am

    wee, techy groupie! hahahaha!

     
  2. Will

    October 6, 2009 at 7:07 pm

    The night starts here / Forget your name / Forget your fear. ♥

     

Leave a comment