RSS

Transformers 2: Nominee for Worst Movie of the Year

03 Jul

transformers2bw01So obviously, if you liked the movie, you should stop reading this right now, because this is an unabashed bashing of the movie

“The human mind can only take so much mindless explosions and drivel”

That was the thought running through my head as I sat through almost three hours of what was supposedly a continuation of the hugely successful first movie of one of the iconic cartoons of our generation. While I thoroughly enjoyed the first installment, this one felt too long, too drawn out, too trite, too much. And they say too much of a good thing is bad. So what do you call too much of a bad thing? Transformers 2

It’s a good thing my expectations of this movie was very low already, given all the negative reviews. I was still prepared to give it a chance, but I was not prepared for this suckfest of a movie. Everything felt too forced; the humor, the action scenes, the attempt at a decent story, and yes…hate me for this…but sheesh, Megan Fox. Don’t even get me started. I appreciate female beauty as much as any straight girl normally does, but come on! Does she have to have all those slow-mo glamour shots, and close ups of her face that has only one expression (pouty) and they had to inexplicably have her change into a dress, just so they can say she had an almost nude scene in a PG-13 movie. Anyways, I guess the director knew he had to have some saving grace for this movie and for most of the hetero men in the world, she was it

And can you say Lord of the Rings rip-off? I can’t even count the times when they totally stole scenes, dialogue, even music from LOTR. I am one of the biggest LOTR fans I know and it felt sacriligeous. I kept expecting The Fallen to say “My Precious” when he was looking for the matrix, or whatever that was

I can appreciate actionb blockbuster movies if it had no pretensions of being deep or even having a decent storyline. Car chase scenes, gun fights, and yes even robot fights can be thoroughly enjoyable…if you don’t do it over and over and over and over…and then add “human” scenes as an afterthought and then add seemingly meaningful dramatic moments or attempts at humor (and I say attempt, because I laughed like once or twice, and at scenes that weren’t intentionally funny). I couldn’t even feel an ounce of sadness when my favorite character supposedly died, and that’s saying a lot for me. I can’t remember how many times i cringed, sighed, pulled my hair out of frustration, until I just finally walked out and waited for the movie to end at the lobby. Which apparently, was not the exit point for the moviegoers, so I almost got locked in the IMAX theater, thanks to the guards who did not inform me that everyone else had gone home

I feel stressed just thinking about the movie so I’ll just shut up now

The only good, no, great, thing about last night, was that i got to spend an entire evening with my ex-colleagues and forever friends. I still miss you guys. Everyday

 
1 Comment

Posted by on July 3, 2009 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , ,

One response to “Transformers 2: Nominee for Worst Movie of the Year

  1. wandering storyteller

    July 7, 2009 at 7:50 am

    i want to hear about the LOTR references! i missed them all amid the explosions, i think :p

     

Leave a Reply

 
