RSS

Why I Want To Be a Professional Gig Watcher

02 Jun

I am not, have never been and will never be a dance club/bar type of person. The one time I went to a club, I had fun for like 10 minutes, then the suffocating feeling quickly followed. I charged my way through the crowd and spent the rest of the night in the coffee shop beside it. Call me a killjoy, but it is totally not my scene. Maybe it’s the fact that I can’t dance to save my life, or the idea of sweaty people trying to dry hump each other, or the simple fact that I hate techno/dance/house/trance music or whatever you call it

Now bring me to a bar with bands and that’s a whole other story

The past two weeks brought me to three of the most famous bars in the city (Mag:Net High Street, Route 196 and Saguijo), and I got to listen to more than twenty bands all together. And I know I’ve found my true calling: to watch bands play night after night after night

I could care less if we’re packed like sardines, or if the air smells like stale smoke and sour beer, or if you barely have room to breathe. As soon as the first guitar note plays or the first drum beat swells, the music takes over and nobody cares anymore about anything except the band playing in front of them.

And unlike big, concert venues that makes your favorite band look and sound like ants, these places make them more accessible to the adoring crowd. I just had to stretch my arms and I could (but didn’t, of course) touch the vocalist’s face, you could feel their sweat drop onto your skin, you could hear their music resonate throughout the whole cramped area

Be it pop rock, alternative, glam rock, dance rock, shoegazer, tech rock, or whatever genre the band plays, the language remains the same: music at its finest, livest, rawest (and yes, I am probably inventing words here)

My personal favorites of the past two weeks: Techy Romantics, Taken By Cars, Up Dharma Down, Sleepwalk Circus, Out of Body Special, Pedicab, Salamin, Chilitees….I could go on, and on, and on…..

Now if only I could find a way to live on just becoming a professional gig watcher….saguijo 01

 
2 Comments

Posted by on June 2, 2009 in Music is My Life

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Why I Want To Be a Professional Gig Watcher

  1. The Kirbaceous One

    June 9, 2009 at 7:37 am

    There’s no shame in hating clubs. I hate them more than you do hate me calling you Winky.

     
  2. The Kirbaceous One

    June 9, 2009 at 7:38 am

    And why am I not in your blog roll? Sacrilege!!!

     

Leave a Reply

 
