RSS

Sky Broadband Sucks

04 Mar

The title says it all

I normally don’t blog or even micro-blog about my frustrations with certain establishments or services, no matter how frustrated I am with them. I work in the communications industry so I know how even one blog entry can affect any company’s reputation or even sales

But I’ve reached my limit with Sky Broadband and so here I am

I was so excited to get their services because they claim to be faster and cheaper than regular DSL (serves me right for being too gullible). The first 3 days were heavenly. I even worked from home because I wanted to enjoy being able to work and download at the same time (darn firewalls). On the 4th day, things were okay, but afternoon came and I lost signal. I called them up, and when we couldn’t solve the problem through the phone, they promised to send a crew over the next day. But the next morning, I had a strong signal again, so I canceled the crew visit. Then again, in the afternoon, there wasn’t any signal again, and so again, I called. I was promptly informed that there was a problem with the Barangay Laging Handa (isnt my barangay’s name the best?) area and it will take at least a few days to fix it

Days turned to weeks. Then to months. Every week I would call and ask what was going on. On the 2nd week, I lost all signal completely, 24 hours. I asked and asked and asked and all they could answer was, Ma’am we’re still fixing the problem. And when I ask, how long would it take, the answer would always be, they have no idea. So for almost two months, I was able to use the service for only 3 days.

Okay, technical problems happen, I accept that. But for the problem to last two months and for no notice whatsoever from Sky Broadband, there must be something seriously wrong with you. I swear, I am so tempted to rip off the banners I see in EDSA advertising a free trial of Sky Broadband for a month.

I know there are bigger problems in the world, but all I want right now is to be able to go home and do my freelance stuff and download whatever I want and watch whatever I want online. Is that too much to ask???

So yeah, I am canceling my Sky Broadband and if they charge me for 1 year as the contract states, I swear I am going to throw a massive hissy fit.

So the point of this entry is, don’t subscribe to Sky Broadband unless you are 100% sure that they will not have a month long or year long technical problem in your area

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 4, 2009 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
